"I'm an excellent driver."

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Omegatron, Aug 19, 2007.

1. Omegatron

Omegatron Mandatory Fun. Buy it now TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Y'know, I was thinking the other day that most people consider themselves to be an excellent driver. Hopefully, if you know you're a sucky driver, you stay off the roads. But then the question becomes, 'What constitutes good driving?' So what are some of your ideas on good driving, for me, I...

Drive at or just over the speed limit, except under very low visibility conditions. 3 drops of rain don't make me tap the breaks, but I slow down when there's a hurricane or blizzard conditions.

Use my turn signal, both when turning from one street to another, or changing lanes.

Memorize traffic patterns in areas I frequent- I know the cycle of traffic lights, when lanes end/ begin, etc. Doing this helps me get places faster, as I'll go around other traffic when new lanes are coming up, or be able to anticipate when I get a green light, so I don't hold traffic up behind me.

Don't speed, but do accelerate quickly from traffic lights. I'm not out to prove anything with my Focus- just get to where I'm going.

Don't weave in and out of traffic very often, but I know how much space my car takes up, and if there's room for me to get out from behind a slow truck, I'll take it.

Pull out into traffic only if I know that I'll be matching an oncoming vehicle's speed by the time it gets up to me- not just pulling out if there's time for me to get out if it means oncoming traffic will have to break.

Know the fastest routes to common destinations. While it's a more direct route to take one way to the comic book shop, taking route 'B' means I encounter many fewer traffic lights, thus saving time and gas overall.

Can park between the lines- a skill that seems lacking in about 1 of 10 drivers these days. In the event I'm not between the lines, I'll back out, and make sure I am.

Anyone else?