If its expensive to make new molds, where does our money go?

Discussion in 'Transformers General Discussion' started by Bass X0, Nov 29, 2007.

1. Bass X0

Bass X0 King of Muay Thai

News Credits:
    Fine. I get that repaints are much cheaper for Hasbro to produce because the mold is already there.

But when we buy a new mold, aren't we (everyone who buys it) paying for the design and development of the toy? Hasbro should make the money they spent on making the toy back, right?

Or is there something I'm missing?

2. Paladine

Paladine Well-Known Member

Lots of profit is always better than a little profit. At least for a company.

3. lars573

lars573 Well-Known Member

I've taken an economics seminar, so I'm no expert (anyone who knows better feel free to correct me). But think of it like this. How many units of one mold does Hasbro have to sell to make their 121%. 121% is the profitability line, the bare minimum. It's everything you spent to make and move the product plus at least 21% more.

Now Haskara costs to make one mold are going to be based on how long it takes their design teams to produce it. Which probalby consits of graphic designers, sculptors, and mechanical engineers. None of whom are getting paid peanuts. Then you have to submit the toys to the safety testing, which does cost money. All of this would fall under the title of prototyping. Then you have to buy the raw materials to manufacture and package them. Then after that you have to get them from the factories to the retailers warehouses.

The usual practice is for Hasbro to charge say Wal-Mart what it cost them to make and move the toy plus a mark-up. Wal-Mart then does the same. Charges you Hasbro's cost plus their mark-up, and Wal-Mart's mark-up. That mark-up that Hasbro charged Wal-Mart is what goes back in the company to pay for the design and prototyping stage.

4. Motor_Master

Motor_Master Lets the balls touch TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits: