IDW TF newbie questions

Discussion in 'Transformers Comics Discussion' started by Stormgard, Apr 29, 2011.

1. Stormgard

Stormgard Member

Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie to TF2005, a couple of you may recognize me from the Hisstank site. I had a bunch of Transformers as a kid, and have not started collecting again, but as with G.I.Joe, I have been getting into the comics.

I've been enjoying the current TF IDW series through the TPBs ("For all Mankind", "International Incident", etc) and the entire "All Hail Megatron" series that I guess came before that. I just picked up "Last Stand of the Wreckers", which everyone raves about, although I haven't started reading it yet.

I see that there is another IDW series from before this again, and I am considering getting started collecting it - here's the first in the batch:

Amazon.com: Transformers: The IDW Collection Volume 1 (9781600106675): Simon Furman, Eric Holmes, Shane McCarthy, Nick Roche, Alex Milne, E.J. Su, M. D. Bright: Books

A couple of questions - um a whole bunch of questions, actually:

1 Is this series in any way related storyline-wise to the original Marvel series from the '80s, or is it a complete reboot?

2 Does this other IDW series happen before the events of AHM, or is it a completely separate unrelated continuity?

3 This may sound like a silly question, but is there content in these books that I already have if I have the four AHM TPBs? I'm thinking of the spotlights in particular. For example, is the Cliffjumper spotlight in this IDW series different from the Cliffjumper spotlight in the AHM series?

4 Just how long did this series go on for? IDW have 3 books out already, with a fourth one coming in June. Is this the whole series?

5 And if the fourth volume does not complete the series, how many more will there be; and can one reasonably assume that they will in fact complete the series of these hardcover books? (I'm tring to figure how much it will cost for me to collect the whole series.)