I now have an HD TV! But nothing to take full advantage of it!

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by tikgnat, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,677
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,592
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    So yesterday I bought an HD ready TV, its got the funky HD inputs at the back as well as HDMI, and while its not the best (or most expensive) on the market its still leaps and bounds ahead of my old TV.

    Whats got me all excited though is when I shoved in the XBOX using the old S-video lead the picture looked AWFUL, so I dug around and now I'm now playing the old XBOX through a High Definition kit... at 480I.

    Which isn't much by any means of High Def but its suddenly given a new lease of life on my XBOX, everything looks 10 times better than before. I can't believe the improvement a mere shift in resolution makes! Tomb Raider Legend looks soooooo good!

    I now cannot wait until the new HDMI enabled XBOX360 comes out. Its got to be soon, the deals on the 360 are getting totally crazy. (£250 for a premium 360 and 3 games at one place)

    So yeah. HD FTW!
     
  2. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    congratulations!

    just out of curiosity, i tried to set my old xbox to 480, but i couldn't work out how... is it a per game setting? i want to run spiderman 2 in jazzy def :( 
     
  3. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,677
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,592
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    You need a Hi Definition kit I'm afraid, and I don't think the standard Xbox comes with one.

    You know how the Xbox only has one AV output at the back? What confused me when I first got my Xbox was the different types of box you could plug into that and (apparently, from what I now understand) the Xbox automatically changes the video output depending on what plug is in it, and also whether or not the game supports high def is also a factor.

    From what I can tell, the XBOX menu is at 576I, most games I've tried are 480I, but Star wars Lego 2 is 576I, all done automatically. So its not a setting you can set yourself unfortunately. I've got 4 different AV sets myself,

    Composite (Yellow, Red, White cables only, I think this came with the Xbox)
    Scart (leads to a box with plugs for Scart and Optical)
    S-video (leads to a box with plugs for S-video, Optical, White, Red)
    High Defintion Component (leads to a box with plugs for Optical, Y, Cr, Cb, White and Red)

    The last one I have is like the one here:

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Xbox-High-Definition-HDAV-HD-Audio-Video-AV-Pack-NEW_W0QQitemZ190087374523QQihZ009QQcategoryZ20385QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    And to top off all this confusion (for me at any rate) I have no idea if Xbox cables and Xbox 360 cables are the same/compatible with each other.

    But yeah, I've been playing Soul Calibur 3 on my PS2 on a normal TV for a couple of weeks. I plugged in the PS2 into the new TV (in the proper RGB scart, it looks even worse in the component scart) it looks pretty bad... and then I played Soul Calibur 2 on my Xbox in hi def... (only 480I, not that much of a step up) and suddenly Soul Calibur 3 seems TOTALLY redundant, it really makes that much of a difference.

    Edit.
    After readind up on this on Wiki I'm slightly more confused again. Apparently the SCART AV setup should provide a true RGB signal, which SHOULD be Hi def compatible... but I haven't tested my XBOX SCART box... its downstairs lurking around somewhere. I'll see if I can dig it out and try it out, I wanna find out.

    Weirdly if this works (SCART providing a true HD out) then my Gamecube should be able to do 480I and all that stuff. Hell, even the PS2 is theoretically supposed to be able to do HD, but the RGB signal to my TV is ass. I need to read up more on this.

    Edit 2
    Hokay, apparently the RBG signal provided by SCART cannot do an interlaced (480I) signal. If I want that I need component cables. Same for my GC. My GC model Number is DE-101, and it DOES have a Digital AV plug, as well as the Analog AV plug... so if I can find the right cables I can have hi def GC goodness too... wonder how much they cost and what games are supported?
     
  4. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Congrats.
    Now get the 360 and Live.
     
  5. RabidYak

    RabidYak Go Ninja Go Ninja Go

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    8,467
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +31
    SCART does RGB component or S-Video depending on what stuff your using, you can't do HD over it because you need YPbPr component for that.

    The pecking order for TV video inputs over here is -
    HDMI > HDCP DVI > YPbPr Component > RGB SCART > S-Video > Composite > RF

    Anything lower then RGB SCART isn't worth bothering with for anything and you shouldent connect any HD source with anything less then YPbPr Component.

    480i/p and 576i/p arn't HD, they are just the digital versions of standard NTSC and PAL.
     
  6. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,677
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,592
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Boardwise... I have to wait for the HDMI Sexbox360 now! :( 

    Rabid, 480i/p and 576i/p not Hi Def? Well they look hella better than normal RGB... and the Xbox is supposed to be able to go to 720p and 1080i... wonder what games can do that?

    Edit

    Hmm.

    720p games:

    Amped® 2 (Xbox Live™-enabled)
    Crash Nitro Kart™
    Delta Force®—Black Hawk Down™ (Xbox Live-enabled)
    ESPN Major League Baseball (Xbox Live-enabled)
    ESPN NBA Basketball 2005 (Xbox Live-enabled)
    Freedom Fighters™
    MVP Baseball™ 2004
    NBA® 2K3 (Xbox Live-enabled)
    NBA® Ballers™
    Sega Sports™ World Series® Baseball 2K3
    SoulCalibur® II
    Steel Battalion™—Line of Contact (Xbox Live-enabled)
    Street Hoops
    Terminator® 3: The Redemption
    The Sims™ Bustin’ Out
    Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 4
    Tony Hawk’s Underground
    True Crime: Streets of L.A.

    1080i games:
    Dragons Lair 3D: Return to the Lair
    Enter the Matrix™
    MX Unleashed™
    Syberia

    I'll have to check my Sold Calibur 2, l'll have to confirm the 720p... I've also got Enter the Matrix, this should be an excuse to dust that POS off again.
     
  7. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    Don't wait for that garbage, unless you have 2 hdmi ports the PS3 will cry when you get one.







    If you get one.
     
  8. RabidYak

    RabidYak Go Ninja Go Ninja Go

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    8,467
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +31
    Digital is better then analogue and RGB SCART only carries the latter.

    Just to avoid confusion, YPbPr component is an analogue connection but it can carry digital signals because the source and output devices do conversion at each end. Obviously that means its not as good as digital connections like HDMI and DVI, but it still much better then an all-analogue set up like RGB SCART.
     
  9. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    I agree with Twist.

    Just give in and get one tomorrow.
    You'll thank us when you do.
     
  10. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,677
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,592
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    'If'. Hrrrrrrrrrrrmmmmmmmmmm. Too many good Xbox360 deals! I must resist... MUST!. Or should I? Hrmm.

    On another note Enter the Matrix and Soul Calibur seem to only be displaying in 480i... is there way to switch up to the higher res? I'ma gonna google it now, but my google skillz are lacking.

    Edit.
    Ahhhhhh. 16:9 is 480i, 4:3 is 720p apparently. Time to go test. I'll assume thats the case with Enter the Matrix as well...

    This explains why Star Wars Lego is 576i but in 4:3.

    Edit 2
    Eeeeeeeh. Can't get Soul Calibur into 720p... only SW Lego 2 goes higher than 480i, and it does that automaticially. Eh. I'll need to take another look at it tonight.
     
  11. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    Especially when we kick you off buildings in Crackdown :O
     
  12. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,677
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,592
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    You guys just wanna gang up and beat up on me...
     
  13. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    No.



























    Yes.
     
  14. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    I regret nothingggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg *splat*
     
  15. Cheetatron

    Cheetatron Eh

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Posts:
    4,710
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Soul Calibur 2 will suppor 720p but its weird cause it puts borders around the image so the actaul gaming viewing space is 4:3 at 720p
     
  16. rawl316

    rawl316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    I would suggest staying away from overpriced monster HDMI cables. that cold plated stuff is a bunch of crap and they use that to juice up the price.

    you can get quality hdmi cables at monoprice.com

    my PS3 is amazing. I barely touch my 360 anymore.
     
  17. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,705
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +3
    Not trying to flame Sony, but out of curiosity I have to ask.
    What game on the PS3 is keeping you away from Crackdown, Lost Planet, Midway or even Gears of War?
     
  18. rawl316

    rawl316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    I don't enjoy FPSs. I play lots of sports games, and with the PS3, I have a superior HD dvd player, hdmi connection, and wireless internet built in. I also don't have to pay to play online.
     
  19. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,705
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +3
    Coolness. I am glad you are enjoying it.
    I am not big on sports games, though.

    And, for the record, none of the games I mentioned are FPS games.

    I have my eye on the PS3, but I just don't see a "buy me" app for it right now.
    Also, I looked on monoprice.com but I don't see an HDMI cable that has the PS3 interface on one side. At least, I don't think I see.
    Is there a cable by Pelican or Mad Catz? The Sony cable's price is crazy.

    I guess Sony's HDMI price is analagous to Microsoft's hard drive price.
     
  20. rawl316

    rawl316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    sony doesn't have a special side for their hdmi cables. any hdmi cable will do.

    anyways, my video game playing pretty much consists of sports games. I will play occassional racing games, but I prefer more mario kart type games.
     

Share This Page