I need help from PS3 owners...

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Lord Of Tetris, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. Lord Of Tetris

    Lord Of Tetris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    3,403
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +6
    If any of you have a PS3 (preferably the 60 GB version, although any version will do), can you take pictures of the AV cable and the Ethernet cable that came with the machine?

    Here's the situation:

    My PS3 doesn't play Blu-Rays or DVDs anymore. It's like inserting a blank CD-R. I called Customer Service, and they're currently sending me a box to ship to Sony. Damn annoying thing is that I have to also include all the original parts, including the 6axis, the 6axis attacher cable, and (sigh) the AV Cable and Ethernet Cable.

    I can't find the last two, and if someone posted pictures of what they look like, it'd greatly help my search. Sony says that unless I include all the parts, they'll ship my PS3 right back to me without doing any repairs.
     
  2. seeker311

    seeker311 The Collector

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9,188
    News Credits:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +28
    I have the original ethernet cable as I had to buy a longer one. But if I give you mine, then what will I do if I have to send my console to Sony?
     
  3. NSJ23

    NSJ23 Binalternator Lover

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Posts:
    2,359
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +28
    I never took mine out of the package, i will be home in about two hours and will post that pick for you.
     
  4. NSJ23

    NSJ23 Binalternator Lover

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Posts:
    2,359
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +28
    image you request a few hours late. had to vote and feed the child.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Lord Of Tetris

    Lord Of Tetris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    3,403
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +6
    ^^^Ah, thanks so much!

    I Googled "PS3 AV Cable" and saw this:

    [​IMG]

    So it's no surprise that I haven't found it. I will now redouble my efforts to look for a non-silver AV cable.
     
  6. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,799
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +21
    it's exactly the same as the PS1 and PS2 AV cables, so if you have one of those handy, just send it instead.
     
  7. Lord Of Tetris

    Lord Of Tetris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    3,403
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +6
    I have one more question/favor to ask of you guys.

    I'm 99% certain I found the Ethernet cable and the AV cable, and it appears to be identical to the stuff in NSJ23's picture. Is it ok if NSJ23 (or anyone else, really) looked at their cables and told me if they match the following descriptions?

    Ethernet Cable: matte black, no markings that indicate it's from a PS3 or any specific product at all

    AV Cable: the plug that goes into the PS3 itself has a "Playstation" logo on it, but no other indications for what system it's for. EG, it doesn't say "Playstation 2" or "Playstation 3." Just "Playstation" with the PSX logo.

    Thanks a lot, and especially NSJ23, for all your great help.
     
  8. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,799
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +21
    yeah, like I said. its the same exact cable they've used since the PS1 days. there have been no changes to it's design.

    even if it is a PS2 cable, sony and everyone else has no way of knowing.
     

Share This Page