I have Satan's computer (help needed)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Soundblaster1, Aug 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Soundblaster1

    Soundblaster1 The Heisenberg of Toys

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    13,996
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +11
    Seriously... I have a decent machine, around 3-4 years old now. Every time I try to run more than ONE program, it flashes black and then restarts. Like seriously, it DOESNT want me copying that picture into paint to enlarge it. Or opening a SECOND internet window (I hate tabs) so I can have reference pics or something.

    What's wrong with my computer, and how can I fix it?
     
  2. Bryan

    Bryan ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Posts:
    9,020
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Format EVERYTHING. Reinstall EVERYTHING. That'll probably work.

    Actually, I don't know shit about computers. A solid virus program would probably be a good place to start, followed immediately by a defrag.
     
  3. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Sounds like power/overheating issues. Try checking the fans, and cleaning them and the CPU heatsink.
     
  4. Bryan

    Bryan ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Posts:
    9,020
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Oh, that's good.

    Yeah, go with MMM first. He posts all confidently. I'm just repeating something I read in Reader's Digest at the dentists. And there's a good chance the issue was older than your computer.
     
  5. butz

    butz slippery when wet

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Posts:
    6,904
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    I'd also check to see if you have a crapload of stuff you didn't know about running in the background, hogging up CPU cycles and whatnot. For example, if you have a bunch of AOL crap on there, its likely not helping matters. Could also be a virus.
     
  6. EmineX

    EmineX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Posts:
    232
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +1
    Agreed, sounds as though it could be a power / thermal issue.

    You can get a power supply for around $50 - $75. You could spend less money, but I don't think it's worth it. Antec and PC Power and Cooling make great power supplies.

    Theoretically, the wattage of your current power supply should be on one of its labels.
     
  7. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
    That's exactly what I thought as soon as I got to the part about restarting. Open the PC and get rid of any dust; it's amazing how quickly it can accumulate and it really can screw a PC's performance up.
     
  8. Optimus Scourge

    Optimus Scourge Arcee's boy toy Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    7,670
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +5
    they do get dirty for sure. those cans of compressed air they sell for claning computers are great for that dust.
     
  9. seeker311

    seeker311 The Collector

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9,188
    News Credits:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +28
    Take it to church
     
  10. Soundblaster1

    Soundblaster1 The Heisenberg of Toys

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    13,996
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +11
    I checked and I'm pretty much on the bare minimum for running applications/CPU usage.

    I'll look in to keeping it better ventilated and less dusty.
     
  11. Phy

    Phy I want... ROOM SERVICE!!

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,766
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +1
    Since it's Satan's computer, I could swear the Vatican released either a blessing or an exorcism ritual specifically for computers a couple years ago. However - dust it, first.
     
  12. RoboticPlanet

    RoboticPlanet Exclusively Exclusive

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Posts:
    2,999
    News Credits:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +13
    If it's indeed overheating there should (in my experience) be some sequence of beeps during/prior to shutdown. Any of those? If so you can google for something regarding "computer beeps" to if it's the heat issue.

    I've had a situation like this in the past where too many apps would dive the system into a reboot. A memory check (done with freely available programs) will tell you if it resides there.
     
  13. Greyryder

    Greyryder Kitbashed

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Posts:
    4,585
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Spontaneous rebooting is usually a sign of bad RAM. I suggest downloading and running Memtest. If it gives any errors, you need to replace at least one stick of RAM.
     
  14. Wingsbr

    Wingsbr Christian TF Fan :)

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Posts:
    1,781
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +2
    I can also refer you to another site that I post regularly too. www.notebookreview.com . I write hardware reviews for them and their forums are a super resource and should be able to help out.
     
  15. Alpha Prime

    Alpha Prime Ten Years Strong

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Posts:
    1,192
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    1) Virus - it's possible, but doubtful
    2)Overheating - good chance. dust. make sure the fan is running. watch it a while. buy an extra com fan or set up a small fan blowing into the air intake (if u have one).
    3)Memory.

    & what windows are you using? are you using windows? have you made any major upgrades?
     
  16. llamatron

    llamatron Shut up, Nigel. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Posts:
    8,971
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +15
    I'm going to quote this for truth.

    I had a very similiar problem before and it was the RAM. Try a format and if that doesn't fix it then 99% likely it's the RAM.
     
  17. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
    Not always. My P4 used to have heat problems, and it would just reboot itself with no warning at all.
     
  18. ShortCircuit

    ShortCircuit Decepticon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Posts:
    1,698
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    Im leaning towards not enuff Ram available, so the program quits, and returns to desktop.

    Click start, click control panel, click system, click general tab....how much ram u got in that box?

    If youve got 512 ram at minimum you are okay.

    But if its been fine for 3 years and actin fussy now, Id say you installed a program recently that aint jiving with windows.


    But ya agreed with some others it may be the mem, If youre not skared, open her up, and just swap the mem chip(s), dust her off and see if that helps. If youve got one chip, nvm
     
  19. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    It's possessed.
    Burn it.
     
  20. KA

    KA PENIS GOES WHERE?!!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    23,225
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +17
    just take it to the computer garage and let the computer mechanic look at it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page