I got a DS as well

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Crossblades, Jul 8, 2006.

  1. Crossblades

    Crossblades Combiner fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Posts:
    3,047
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +3
    I finally bought a DS today after cashing in my first paycheck from my job at the bank. I bought a DS that included Animal Crossing and I also bought New Super Mario Bros. Haven't played animal Crossing yet, but I am in love with New Super Mario Bros. Funnest Mario game I ever played. But I have a question. How do I set up the Wifi?
     
  2. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,703
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,626
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Its a piece of cake, assuming you have a compatible Wireless router.

    Also, you can only set it up from within a wifi enabled game (ie, Animal crossing) from a specific menu in there.

    If you don't have a wireless router that works (go to Nintendowifi.com for a full list) you can buy a wireless DS nobbin that sits in your PC's USB port. My Router doesn't work, but my DS works perfect with a friends wireless. I have to get a nobbin, but it can wait for now.
     
  3. thefrozenred

    thefrozenred 4 8 15 16 23 42

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    8,909
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Linksys makes a lot of good routers compatible with the DS. I got a brand new WRT54GC 54g Compact Router off eBay for ~$20 (+s/h), and it works great with WiFi.
     
  4. Shin-Gouki

    Shin-Gouki Rebuilding Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,937
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Location:
    Originally: Huntington Beach, CA, Now: Cincinnati
    Likes:
    +40
    As I am getting a DS friday I did some research on the Wi-Fi subject I have a D-Link DI-624 so I'm all set. Ratings 0=BAD 5=Recommended

    Manufacturer----------Model-----------------Rating---------Other
    3Com------------------3CRWE554G72TU------5
    Actiontec-------------GT701-WG---------------3------------Latest firmware required
    Apple-----------------Airport Express---------5
    Belkin----------------F5D8230-4---------------5
    Belkin----------------F5D7231-4 ver 1102---0
    Belkin----------------F5D7230-4 ver. 4000---0
    Belkin----------------F5D6231-4---------------5
    Belkin----------------F5D7230-4 ver. 2000---5
    Buffalo---------------WHR-HP-G54-------------3------------Initial setup difficult
    D-Link----------------DI-624--------------------5
    D-Link----------------DGL-4300----------------5
    D-Link----------------DI-514--------------------0
    D-Link----------------DI-524 ver A-------------0
    D-Link----------------DI-524 ver C1-----------5
    D-Link----------------DI-784--------------------5
    Hawking---------------HWR54G----------------1------------Rarely connects succesfully
    IOGEAR----------------GWA502----------------2------------Works best with WEP turned off
    Linksys---------------WRT54G------------------5
    Linksys---------------WRT54GX----------------4------------Basic rate must be set to 1-2mbps
    Linksys---------------BEFW11S4---------------5
    Linksys---------------WRT54GC----------------3------------WEP encryption must be off
    Microsoft-------------MN-500-------------------5
    Motorola--------------WR850G-----------------5
    Netgear---------------WGT624-----------------1------------Rarely connects succesfully
    Netgear --------------WPN824-----------------2------------WEP enryption must be off
    Netgear---------------WGR614v4--------------5
    Netgear---------------WGR614v5--------------1------------Rarely connects succesfully
    Netgear---------------MR814v3----------------2------------NDS must be set to static IP and manually entered
    SMC-------------------SMC2804WBR-----------5
    SMC-------------------SMC7004VWBR----------5
    SMC-------------------SMC2304WBR-AG-------5
    SparkLan--------------WX-6615M--------------5
    US Robotics-----------USR5462----------------4
    Westell---------------P-327W-------------------3------------Set 802.11b rates for both 5.5 and 11 to Y
    Zyxel-----------------P-334W--------------------4
     
  5. butz

    butz slippery when wet

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Posts:
    6,904
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    I bought one a few weeks ago, as well as new Super Mario. I was so excited with the new Mario game that I plowed through it in a couple days, getting all the coins and accessing and completing everything. Looking back, maybe I should've paced myself? Now I don't have anything to play. :( 
     
  6. thefrozenred

    thefrozenred 4 8 15 16 23 42

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    8,909
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Yeah, I just finished New Super Mario Bros too...after only 5 days of owning it. I'm debating whether or not to keep it and get something with a much longer replay value (such as Tetris DS).

    I mean, it was a really great game, but way, way too short, and way too easy. :-/
     
  7. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,799
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +21
    according to the list, my wireless router doesnt work with the DS. the list is wrong.

    try it regardless of what the list says.
     
  8. Mike

    Mike Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,738
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    I keep forgetting I can play online :p 
     
  9. Shin-Gouki

    Shin-Gouki Rebuilding Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,937
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Location:
    Originally: Huntington Beach, CA, Now: Cincinnati
    Likes:
    +40
    That's the official Nintendo list from 11/05 but their are bound to be errors, or firmware upgrades that make them compatible. What Router do you have, and when did you buy it?
     
  10. Nightrain

    Nightrain Senior Villain

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    10,355
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +35
    w00t

    I keep mulling over buying a DS. I have played New Mario and while it's technically a great game, it still has a been-there-done-that feeling to me.
     
  11. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,799
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +21
    I dont remember which one I originally had (which worked despite nintendo saying it didnt), but currently I have a 2wire router, and I dont think thats on the list at all.
     
  12. Chaos Muffin

    Chaos Muffin Misadventure Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    28,751
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +4
    Ordered one of those little white wifi adapters from Nintendos website. Was a cinch to hookup

    Bought the DS on day one of it's arrival. Been loving it every since. Put it down for a few weeks when the PSP came out, but picked it back up and hav'nt touched the PSP in a long time. Just having more fun with the DS.
     
  13. REDLINE

    REDLINE longer days, plz? Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    27,867
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +3
    well, since the accident last monday cause our DS to literally rip in two, a new DS Lite sits in the living room woot!
     
  14. Mike

    Mike Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,738
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    damn.. I have a dlink 524, but I dont know which one? how do I tell if its A or C?

    0 and 5 are a big difference :p  I hope mine is the 5 one. but maybe its the 0, cuz I tried playing mario kart online but couldnt find anyone to play with :( 

    EDIT - oh it is the C1, good!

    but still doesnt explain why I go to search for players worldwide, it comes up with nothing.

    oh well
     
  15. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,799
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +21
    sometimes everyone is already playing, and sometimes it won't include people who dont have good connections. if you can connect at all, your router works. if your router doesnt work, it won't even be able to detect the thing.
     

Share This Page