2D Artwork: "I am . . . MEGATRON!"

Discussion in 'Transformers Fan Art' started by Superquad7, Jun 3, 2010.

1. Superquad7

Superquad7 We're only human. Super Mod

News Credits:
    When I first got back into Transformers in 2000, one of my first main interests within Transformers was illustration. I started drawing some of my old, favorite G1 bots, but when RiD hit I really got into the toys (and even the cartoon). After I got into RiD, I wanted to create a set of videos (this is before the technology to make DVDs was commonplace) where I'd end up making a boxed set of the whole series. The Rhino sets hadn't been out too long, and I really liked how they were done. I decided that I wanted a box, along with "animation cels" as well as artwork that I could multipurpose. This is one such illustration.

Here is the original inked line art:

[​IMG]

colored:

[​IMG]

This is another one of the first full pieces I've colored using Photoshop, and I created it after the "Brothers" piece.

You may (or may not) like the "dull surprise" sorta expression, but I've always enjoyed it, if used appropriately. Hopefully, you'll enjoy it here :) 

This one was little harder, because I didn't have the toy with me at the time. I essentially went by a screen capture, but I still wanted to retain toy accuracy. I felt I achieved my goal here :) 

If you're interested, the original project thread can be viewed here: http://www.tfw2005.com/boards/radicons-customs/210830-rid-set-w-extras.html#

Also, here is the gallery of the boxed set: RiD VHS boxed set - Scratch Built Customs - TFW2005.COM

Thanks for lookin' :) 

Attached Files:

2. MustardwKetchup

MustardwKetchup Well-Known Member

Neat man! I was always a fan of the dull surprise look too.. that and the WHAAA? look. XD

A couple of things that would make this pop though, would be more variation in line thickness, and deeper shadows. You've got it going on in that purple area