Minor/Repaint: Huffer; first radicon attempt...

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by Hippie Trooper, Dec 30, 2008.

1. Hippie Trooper

Hippie Trooper Costumer

Ebay:
    I recently found this site and have to say you all have inspired me! This is my first attempt ever at any kind of custom. It came out OK I guess, but I dont like the way the paint turned out. I used gloss spray paints and I have never liked the way those come out, too thick. I usually get a much smoother coat using flat paint and a clear coat at the end, sadly, I couldnt find the right colors in flat.

I picked up a Universe/movie Armorhide to change into Huffer. He's a small, flat cab truck so he seemed like the perfect candidate.

[ATT] 20014 [/ATT] [ATT] 20015 [/ATT]
    [ATT] 20016 [/ATT] [ATT] 20017 [/ATT]

IMO the crappy paint really shows in truck mode but hides OK in robot mode. I tried touching up some of that black last night, and just made things worse. I'm thinking of taking some nail polish remover to him and starting over. I've repainted my Dinobots weapons and my Universe Ironhide and they look great. Next to them this guy looks like a 1st grade project. But I wanted to get some feedback from some of the more experienced people here.

I never liked Huffer much back in G1, always saw him as a bit of a whiner, but I think he might be pretty cool though if he looked like this.
    Thoughts and comments?
    Thanks in advance
    Later

Attached Files:

2. luke4

luke4 crocon

i think he looks pretty good. u can see the thick paint in truck mode and not in the robot mode. maybe its just the pics..

3. big hank

big hank Resident Slacker-Basher

News Credits:
    Paint's a little thick but great job all around! You are off to a bangin' start! Look forward to more!:thumbs2: 

4. JAFOPrime

JAFOPrime All work and no play.....

Good job.

5. Terrorcon_King

Terrorcon_King Has Gone Transmetal

News Credits: