Heavy/Scratch: How to: Prep- start to finish

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by Wikkid, Feb 7, 2012.

1. Wikkid

Wikkid Semi-retired customizer

This is a step by step process I use to ready my projects for primer sealers. Then again for paintwork. I'm an Autobody tech by trade and this is also the method used to prep plastic car panels for topcoats.

[​IMG]
    ^^I use a solvent based wax and grease remover on raw plastic parts. It's quite strong and can be absorbed into your skin so wear disposable gloves. There is also a waterbased degreaser that is slower but just as effective. I never use a solvent based degreaser on styrene plastic as it warps and re-flows the plastic.

[​IMG]
    ^^I sprayed the seeker base panels down in solvent based pre-kleeno and let it sit for a few minutes to dig away at the mold release agents. Then I just scrub it off with a paper towel. Is it this easy.... yes it is. The alternate method is to soak your parts in soap and water and scrub the panels with a tooth brush.

[​IMG]
    ^^To scuff, I use 3Ms scotchbrite pads. They come in varying coarseness. The red is equivalent to 320 grit. The gray, 1000.
    To prep for a sealer/primer stage, I use the red.

[​IMG]
    ^^All you gotta do is rub the stuff around on the project. No need to put pressure on it as it cuts quite fast and evenly.

[​IMG]
    ^^Here's a side by side of a prepped and unprepped panel. you're just looking to take the shine off the part.

[​IMG]
    ^^This is a prep pen. It comes with refillable ends that are made up of fiberglass hairs.

[​IMG]
    ^^To use it, just run it through all the odd shaped areas the scotchpad can't reach.

[​IMG]
    ^^Same rules apply on styrene figures.

Attached Files:

2. Wikkid

This is how I do my first stage primer using spray bomb. Be sure to mask off areas that have close tolerances as you don't want to get too much paint applied to these areas.

[​IMG]