How does xbox live with wireless work?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by JakmanFirby, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. JakmanFirby

    JakmanFirby The Jakman

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    527
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +3
    I plan on getting an xbox as soon as possible and was curious how online play would be if i used wireless. Would it lag>?
     
  2. soundwave86

    soundwave86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,048
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +1
    I have wireless and it's not laggy for me at all and connects fine.
     
  3. Red Alert

    Red Alert Security

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    8,558
    News Credits:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +26
    I have the overpriced wireless adapter and it plays lag free.


    DSL sometimes has issues if more than one thing is going through the router at a time.
     
  4. JetRaid

    JetRaid Jhet Rheyd

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    2,972
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +1
    I have it aswell, 150 bucks :( 

    Works fine.
     
  5. JakmanFirby

    JakmanFirby The Jakman

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    527
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +3
    WHAT!! ITS 150 BUCKS WTF I CANT AFFORD THAT XD

    but..... if you say its lag free XD
     
  6. amd098

    amd098 En taro Artanis!

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Posts:
    4,446
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +20
    Ebay:
    thats the new adapter
    get the old one for 100
    or use a laptop/pc as a wireless bridge and you can do it yourself for under $10 with ethernet cable
     
  7. Poho

    Poho That's MISTER Poho to you

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    6,207
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    i use the network adapter, and it normally has a superb connection, provided there are no laptops in the apartment stealing loads of bandwidth.
     
  8. Computron34

    Computron34 Butt + Hurt = TF Fans

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Posts:
    3,565
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    Likes:
    +13
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    I use the wireless adapter from the original xbox. works like a charm.
     
  9. Blitz.

    Blitz. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    6,079
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +28
    I just link it to my PC you don't even need to bridge the connection just go into the network property and allow other people on the LAN access to the wireless (assuming your PC/Laptop has wireless)

    I keep telling my self to pick up the wireless device but I just cant put down money on something I'm getting for free via my PC even if it would be slightly easier
     
  10. JakmanFirby

    JakmanFirby The Jakman

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    527
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +3
    XD WHY THE HELL HASNT ANYONE MENTIONED THAT THE ELITE HAS ONE BUILT IN!?!?!?!? XDXDXDXDXD just watched a review! Elite now my choice
     
  11. Noizemaze

    Noizemaze Ken

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    3,357
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +5
    Uh, the Elite doesn't have built in wireless networking, you still need the adapter.
     
  12. JetRaid

    JetRaid Jhet Rheyd

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    2,972
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +1
    No it doesn't...XDXDXDXD =\
     
  13. JakmanFirby

    JakmanFirby The Jakman

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    527
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +3
    DAMMIT! XDXDXDXDXDXDXD ah well! EBAY HERE I COME!!
     
  14. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    Cables > wireless.
     
  15. JakmanFirby

    JakmanFirby The Jakman

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    527
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +3
    well uh...... i saw these pics.....

    [​IMG]

    And..... [​IMG]

    now the elite package seems to have more stuff...... what is it?
     
  16. Noizemaze

    Noizemaze Ken

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    3,357
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +5
    The only difference in those pictures is the included HDMI and Optical Audio cables for the Elite. However, the new $300 Elites no longer include those.
     
  17. seven

    seven RIP Poopers 4-1993/5-2008

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2,731
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    The new N adapter will be $100, the older B/G adapter will be dropping to $79.99. Amazon currently has it for $76, it could concievably drop a lot lower when the MSRP drops.

    Wired is always a better option but Wireless has been fine for me. You can also use most any wireless adapter that conects through ethernet. You can find the original Xbox wireless base station for cheap and it works just as well.
     
  18. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
    Spot on.
     
  19. Red Alert

    Red Alert Security

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    8,558
    News Credits:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +26
    B-but the nest of wires:lol 
     
  20. JakmanFirby

    JakmanFirby The Jakman

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    527
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +3
    hhahaha id use wires but........ then id need a cord going from one end of the house to the other.. which isnt a big house so not as long as some peoples but the cord would really look kinda.... off? messy?
     

Share This Page