Customs: Home injection molding

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Fishdirt, Feb 15, 2012.

1. Fishdirt

Fishdirt Tin Toy Transformer

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Granted if you got a few thousand you can get a nice small to med sized machine (good luck with maintenance on the screw though) but I cam across this and thought it might be interesting, if not in a trivial way, to some. I suppose you'd have to cnc the dies (if you know people who own CNCs you'd probably be looking at material costs with the plans made already).

Bench Table Top Injection Moulding Machine Repro Minor | eBay

Didn't really delve deep into finding an updated sale but, like I said, interesting in a trivial way.

2. big hank

big hank Resident Slacker-Basher

News Credits:
    The real temptation is down here in south florida you can get a full size used industrial injection molding machine for about 5k, I'm an elecromechanical technician and machine operator by trade so I could build/run/maintain the unit, but I need 480volt/100 amp three phase power at my house!

3. Fishdirt

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Yeah you can get great deals in Michigan. 2 of the plastics plants I worked at shut down and had really nice machines. The whole industry crashed in the USA after the trade being opened in 2004. For every ten there was there's only 1 which means great deals but the voltage changes...yeah. In michigan they're only zoned in industrial parks.

Found out you can get a decent cnc set up for 600 (small form I guess, which would work).

Initially I had an idea about using a glue gun and making a set up based on the machines I've run but the search on diy turned up a lot more effective and easier to make methods and this injection machine. All you need is some clamps and a drill press.

4. Megatron31

Megatron31 I Belong to Nobody!

Ebay: