Help needed, IE7 vs Firefox

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by ILoveDinobot, May 16, 2008.

  1. ILoveDinobot

    ILoveDinobot Arise Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Posts:
    15,009
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Long Island
    Likes:
    +36
    Twitter:
    I need some advice, so input is appreciated. I have been using IE6 and never had any real problems, except with pop-ups. But last night I got a pop-up that downloaded malware and a virus/worm onto my computer. Luckily AVG came in handy.

    So I was wondering which is better for internet security and will stop the stupid pop-ups IE7 or Firefox?
     
  2. ckhtiger

    ckhtiger old skool fool

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    6,320
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +3
    I use avg with firefox, and have the adblocker plus add-on running as well. gets rid of those pesky ad banners on certain sites (including this one)

    oh, and hi Dani!
     
  3. ILoveDinobot

    ILoveDinobot Arise Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Posts:
    15,009
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Long Island
    Likes:
    +36
    Twitter:
    Thanks, and hi! :D 
     
  4. Big_Daddy

    Big_Daddy The. Balls. Will. Touch.<br><b><font color=blue>Bi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,645
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +4
    I use AVG with Firefox, and the Adblock Plus and No-Script addons. I also use the COMODO Firewall PRO with Defense+ add-on. Never had any problems with pop-ups or malware.
     
  5. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,799
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +21
    I use internet explorer exclusively. I've tried firefox and it loads everything much slower than IE, and I hate the layout of the browser. never had a virus.
     
  6. Dr Wheeljack

    Dr Wheeljack 3DS

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Posts:
    897
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    I use firefox and stuff loads the same as internet explore and i never had issues with fire fox .
     
  7. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Oh God.... can open... worms everywhere!

    Both stop pop-ups pretty well.
    But really, the best way to prevent malware and viruses is to have proper anti-virus/spyware software installed like AVG, Adware or Spybot and use which ever browser you feel comfortable with.
     
  8. Belgrath

    Belgrath Boom! Nutshot!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,440
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Location:
    Montreal, Canuck-ville (aka Canada)
    Likes:
    +16
    Firefox (and IE, which my brother uses) topped with Ad Muncher, Ad-Aware and AVG Free (new version) for me.
     
  9. Wingsbr

    Wingsbr Christian TF Fan :)

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Posts:
    1,781
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +2
    Same for me. No script is annoying at times, but it's a good security measure...
     
  10. rattrap007

    rattrap007 Insert witty comment here TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Posts:
    14,887
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    297
    Likes:
    +37
    I use Firefox, unless I need to use IE for a website that requires it for a video. I can use Firefox about 98%+ of the time for all my needs. I like the lay out. Works great. No pop ups.
     
  11. ILoveDinobot

    ILoveDinobot Arise Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Posts:
    15,009
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Long Island
    Likes:
    +36
    Twitter:
    Thanks for the opinions! I installed firefox, it's not too bad.
     
  12. Wingsbr

    Wingsbr Christian TF Fan :)

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Posts:
    1,781
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +2
    Go to the firefox addons page and you will find multiple open source addons that make firefox one of a kind...enjoy!
     
  13. soundwaveCA

    soundwaveCA Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Posts:
    13,862
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +2
    Firefox is the only way to go.
     
  14. toma

    toma eskimo in disguise

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,583
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    i too use firefox with adblock plus. i've got ie tab on it too for the one-in-a-million sites that still don't like firefox.
     
  15. TheIncredibleHulk

    TheIncredibleHulk Find Gary Busey!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Posts:
    8,232
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +13
    Working for an ISP, I usually recommend Firefox. IE gets corrupted so easily. And IE7 is shit. I've lost count of how many people have called in, having just upgraded to IE7, and are now having probems. Uninstall IE7 and go back to IE6, or install FF, and good as new. Only time I use IE, is at work, and thats so I have a quick reference guide to tell a customer where exactly to go. IE always seems to cause my computer to run slow at home.
     
  16. Mixmaster

    Mixmaster logh ghot SIS yoD TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,741
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    242
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Likes:
    +34
    Firefox 3 is much faster than the previous versions, still in beta though.
     
  17. Soundblaster1

    Soundblaster1 The Heisenberg of Toys

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    13,996
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +11
    I use IE to view the boards here (just because I'm so used to it) but I use Firefox for everything else. I haven't had a problem with either.
     
  18. Spekkio

    Spekkio Master of War

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,332
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +3
    Firefox or Safari are the way to go, IMO. But then, MSIE isn't available for my computers (Mac OS X and Ubuntu Linux).

    My understanding is that CNET tests have shown MSIE to be the slowest thing going. I'm sick and lazy so I'm not going to look it up. (Sorry.)
     
  19. Gryph

    Gryph Action Master

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    10,401
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +31
    Another good FF add-on is No Script. By default, it doesn't let any scripts run. You have to allow each site yourself.
     

Share This Page