Help me with my freaking wireless internet

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by llamatron, May 6, 2008.

  1. llamatron

    llamatron Shut up, Nigel. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Posts:
    8,969
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    Ok people of TFW2005, this is a story of how my wireless internet got all flip turnd upsidedown...

    Running DSL through a wireless router. Everything worked fine. Three laptops and my desktop (with a wireless PCI card) all worked fine. Suddenly my desktop now refuses to work. I can see the wireless network, but it's almost impossible to connect to it. If I do connect I get disconnected within a minute. I HAVE CHANGED NO SETTINGS AND HAVE MOVED NOTHING IN THE HOUSE. How can this possibly be happening. All laptops can still connect perfectly fine.

    ARGH.

    HELP
     
  2. Pimpimus Prime

    Pimpimus Prime (┌∩┐(◣_◢)┌∩┐) TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Posts:
    6,074
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +13
    Ebay:
    Have you unplugged your router and plugged it in again?
     
  3. GuppyMN

    GuppyMN Evil little fish

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Trophy Points:
    146
    Location:
    WBL, MN
    Likes:
    +0
    Bad wireless card in your PC?
     
  4. llamatron

    llamatron Shut up, Nigel. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Posts:
    8,969
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    Like a billion times.

    Possibly. It's only a few weeks old and it was working fine until suddenly *bam* trouble city.
     
  5. MegaPrime33

    MegaPrime33 Follow me @NerdActivist TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,766
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +1
    My first suggestion was to reset everything, including your computer and DSL. But it sounds like you've already done that. You may have to reset your router. On most routers, there's a button or a pin hole on the back of the router. This will reset it back to factory settings. Then you can reconfigure it however you want. If that doesn't work, then it's gotta be your wireless card, as it sounds like your other computer seem to get access fine.
     
  6. TheIncredibleHulk

    TheIncredibleHulk Find Gary Busey!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Posts:
    8,232
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +13
    Yeah, I'd say its the wireless card. If its only a few weeks old, contact the manufacturer
     
  7. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,704
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +3
    Based on everything else, I would say that it is the wireless card, too.
    However it may not be the hardware.

    Sometimes the wireless cards manage themselves within Windows and sometimes they let Windows handle the device.

    There may be an icon when you are connected in the system tray that presents the option "Let Windows Manage This Device" (or some language to that effect).

    It might be possible that someone was looking at the clock, the calendar, or something else in the system tray and accidentally selected that option.

    If Windows does not have the right configuration, it will not connect.
    -just something worth checking if you haven't already.
     
  8. ambushbug74

    ambushbug74 Stroke me, Stroke me! TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Posts:
    7,750
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +0
    Smash it with a hammer, that's how I get stuff to work. Well, if you call "work" me buying a new item.
     
  9. shifty02

    shifty02 Greetings Programs

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Posts:
    5,592
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    In addition to power cycling the router, I would power cycle the modem as well.

    Also check the routers website for current firmware updates and/or do a factory reset.
     
  10. Zathras

    Zathras Vive le Quebec Libre

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,764
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +4
    If all 3 laptop connects fine, it's most likely not an issue with your router, uninstall the wireless adapter on your PC and re-install it. look for updated drivers for the adapter as well.
     

Share This Page