Customs: Help a first time Customizer...

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by rattrap007, Mar 5, 2010.

1. rattrap007

rattrap007 Insert witty comment here TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Ok I've never done any customizing what so ever before and could use advice. I want to start with something I can probably do mostly on my own.. I saw this:

Marvel Thor TF Crossover to Cobra Rattler/Cobra Commander

Now going by the painting, I think I can handle that easily. I can probably find Cobra stickers for it online. The one part I may need to outsource is the head.

Since I've never done a repaint like this, I assume i need a small jar of model paint in the proper shade of blue and a small brush. I also will probably need the painters tape to cover the cockpit and other areas not needing paint. Is that about it as far as painting?

Please help walk a first timer through. I'm going to pick up Thor on the way home. May look for a suitable Cobra head for a replacement. Could just make a Cobra officer or something.

Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

2. fateastray

fateastray AnakRepublikMalukuSelatan

I think the drybrushed look would work best, with all those little molded details. Just plain red and blue seem a bit dull.

Get some FLAT black paint .(or even better, a black primer) Cover the entire figure with it, but make sure it's thin, that all the details are retained. Then drybrush (there are plenty of tutorials for that, otherwise find Jin Saotome's website) the red and blue on. And yes, get some (Tamiya) maskingtape to mask the parts you don't want painted or painted later.

As for the head, usually people find very random material of everyday household objects. A dremel, or a different cutting tool, some superglue and you should be on your way. You just need to find a way to find something that looks like the faceplate. Hollow out the face of a different figure, glue plate onto the face and stick the head onto the body.