HD TV/PS3 question!

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by kronos, Mar 13, 2008.

  1. kronos

    kronos PSN = KRONOSX1

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    1,819
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    Ok, I need some info from the HD pros here. I reciently got a new tv to go with my PS3. I have a Sony Bravia KDL40S3000. Well it states at the product page that it supports up to 720p. Well when I connect my PS3, it states its in 1080p. Now, regardless, the picture is beautiful. But what is the correct resolution? Is it 720p or 1080p.
     
  2. pscoop

    pscoop Dead inside

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,449
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +7
    Mine is the same way. It is a 720p, which I believe can display 1080i. You can pick either, some people can tell the difference, I can't. Congrats, I got my PS3 first then my TV. I almost shit myself it looks so good in HD, buy some Blu-Rays.
     
  3. kronos

    kronos PSN = KRONOSX1

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    1,819
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    When it comes to the movies, I have made the decision to get the ones i REALLY want (im looking at you Transformers) on BluRay and the rest on DVD.
     
  4. BetaSword

    BetaSword Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    272
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    Well, if your Display's Resolution is officially 720, and it seems to have 1080, then it's highly possible, that the Display is just emulating that Resolution, letting the Resolution appear to be bigger than expected, or for 1080-only-Compatibility.

    Annother possible reason, could be, that a higher-Res-Display was accidently placed into he Packaging, leaving you with a LuckyDraw.
    A possible way, to determine is that you just make a 1080Picture with any Program, with an inserted 720p-one, if the 1080 is simulated, then it's also possible, that the image isn't shown completely.
    Annother way to to determine it's resolution to be higher than 720 is, if you know someone with the GameSacred, to run that game on the Screen, giving you a Crash, if the hardcoded Resolution of 1024x768 can't be shown(my older Bro is pissed 'cause of that on his 720-LCD-TV).
     
  5. kenm2474

    kenm2474 LORD DC TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    6,061
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +0
    Same Boat. I got my PS3 at launch and 3 months later got a HDTV. My tv displays 720i, 720p, and 1080i I have both the PS3 and the input on my HDTV for the PS3 set to 720p. Most of the PS3 game right now are 720p so thats where I have it set now.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2008
  6. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    Ok, so here is a question for you guys. If my TV only goes up to 1080I, is it better for me to stick to 720p for games and movies? I know most games are only 720, but would bluray movies look better progressive 720 or 1080 interlaced?
     
  7. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    I'm pretty sure that 720p is supposed to be superior to 1080i. Probably hard to tell the difference though. I guess the answer is try both modes and chose for yourself.
     
  8. ChldsPlay

    ChldsPlay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Posts:
    2,071
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    1080i > 720p, especially for movies. Your TV is going to display in it's native resolution regardless.
     
  9. kenm2474

    kenm2474 LORD DC TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    6,061
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +0
    For Video Games 720p is the best right now For Movies 1080i or 1080p is the best.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2008
  10. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    I'm not so sure about that. It's widely accepted that progressive scan is much better then interlaced for fast moving images like sports and video games. I would also argue that action movies would fit into this same category. Yeah, "When Harry Met Sally" might look better in 1080i then 720p but something like Transformers would be better of in 720p.

    Here is an interesting article about it that actually argues interlaced formats should actually be halved. ie, 1080i should be called 540i because it only draws 540 lines at a time(every other, per frame).

    http://alvyray.com/DigitalTV/default.htm
     
  11. Shipley

    Shipley No Topic Required

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,656
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    182
    Likes:
    +4
    Your TV's maximum resolution is 720p. PS3's maximum resolution is 1080p. Your TV can't display on pixels it doesn't have. Set your PS3 to 720p and it'll downscale the image perfectly. at 40" you'd have to sit 2 feet away from the TV to see the difference between 1080p and 720p.
     
  12. kronos

    kronos PSN = KRONOSX1

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    1,819
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1
    here is the thing! when I turn my TV to HDMI 1 (where the PS3 is) the "channel" displays "720p". Then when I turn on the PS3, it displays "1080p". And when I disable all resolutione EXCEPT 480i and 1080p, it still says 1080p in the upper right corner. I will snap some photos tonite and post them to show what i mean. Its weird. Its not a complaint. Just odd that it would say that and not be mention that its officially supported.

    I just got Wide Open West HD cable and its amazing by the way!
     
  13. GuppyMN

    GuppyMN Evil little fish

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Posts:
    511
    Trophy Points:
    146
    Location:
    WBL, MN
    Likes:
    +0
    What do you have your PS3 set to? 1080p? If so then your TV is just down converting the signal to 720p. Your TV can accept the signal, it just can't display it. Try setting your PS3 to 720p only and see what your TV displays.
     
  14. kronos

    kronos PSN = KRONOSX1

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    1,819
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +1

    Will do tonite. im just new to all this HD stuff.
     
  15. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,235
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    I've seen this before - your TV is simply downgrading the signal from the console, you didn't get a magical upgrade or anything.

    The TV supports the 1080p signal, but it does not display at that resolution.
     

Share This Page