has anyone removed windows vista from a laptop

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by peeman, Aug 12, 2007.

  1. peeman

    peeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Posts:
    551
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +1
    Hi guys my laptop came with a horrid virus on it called vista that makes it run mega slow

    i want to remove it and put my xp back on but i have appsaloutely no clue what i'm doing or how to do it. So has anyone done this before?

    thanks
     
  2. Reeds

    Reeds Q-Wing Pilot TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Posts:
    2,460
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Likes:
    +0
    Yeah, my system ran like poo and I missed xp, but I went the 'last resort' way and backed up my HD and did a clean system restore. worked fine.
     
  3. peeman

    peeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Posts:
    551
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +1
    i think the last resort way is fine for me , theres hardly anything on there at the moment.

    how would i do that then, would i need to put my xp disc and just go from there or do i need to try and get rid of vista first putting the xp disc in
     
  4. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,505
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    i'd use DOS at boot-up and erase everything, then install XP. Dont forget you need to check to see that all the drivers are working after the install
     
  5. Mike

    Mike Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,738
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    you would think, the software would get faster and faster as we progress into the future, but that's just not the case with Windows.
     
  6. Mixmaster

    Mixmaster logh ghot SIS yoD TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,741
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    242
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Likes:
    +34
    Vista does run faster in some respects than XP, but you need bloody good hardware for it do so.

    Back to the original posters question, you should be able to use the bootable XP CD to delete the Vista partition then create a new partition, format it, then install XP. That should work in theory, but I've never tried it with a Vista partition.
     
  7. Greyryder

    Greyryder Kitbashed

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Posts:
    4,585
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Hardware gets faster. Software gets bloated.
     
  8. ShortCircuit

    ShortCircuit Decepticon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Posts:
    1,698
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    I can help you.

    First, find anything you want to save. and write it to disc.

    Let me know if youve completed that step. Or if theres nothin on there, and you want to just "format" the hard drive format means erasing EVERYTHING.

    Second, you may need another copy of older windows, to complete fresh install, unless you have the XP disc that doesnt require you to have another disc.

    3rd, what kind of computer. Some computers these days have the recovery process partitioned in the hard drive so you NEVER need a XP disc.

    Heres a link of starting a backup with vista, see if this helps you.

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/windowsvista/features/details/backup.mspx

    Another option is going Linux Ubuntu, absolutely free and I hear its alot like windows these days. But if youre familiar w/ windows, and want to use that, go for it.

    The only bad part about a straight XP install, is that it may NOT find all the drivers you need so your computer functions correctly and uses all hardware on board, in that case my friend, I would say you track down a "Recovery Disc" made especially for your make and model laptop. You can buy these recovery disc's on Ebay for the dirt. like 20 bucks.

    But check your make and model, you MAY have the Partition Recovery built in to your Computer. So you might not need to buy anything.
     
  9. MatrixKeeper108

    MatrixKeeper108 One With The Matrix

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Likes:
    +0
    Make sure all the drivers your laptop will use with XP are even available.

    I've discovered that quite a few manufacturers are not providing drivers for their newer XP machines, which means switching to XP may not even be an option.
     
  10. nic28

    nic28 warrior

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    1,082
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    spencer wv
    Likes:
    +0
    i bought a new acer laptop thie feb. with vista on it till a update from microsoft messed up my laptop so i had the hard drive ereased of vista and had xp put back on it it runs so much better and faster
     
  11. Sector Seven

    Sector Seven ∞ GΣΣK™

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    934
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    Microsoft is pretty messed up, but none of their updates would erase Vista, man. Something else was afoot there.
     
  12. Thorns2010

    Thorns2010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Posts:
    500
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +1
    No, no, he is saying that the update made his computer so crappy that he decided to get rid of vista and go back to XP.

    Run on sentences for the win!!
     
  13. Wingsbr

    Wingsbr Christian TF Fan :)

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Posts:
    1,781
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +2
    You may want to consider dual booting. It's very easy with Vista installed first. That way if you have any problems with your Xp install, your not hosed with no computer at all. A lot of the new computers use SATA hdd's and if you have one then it's going to be hard to get Xp on because Xp didn't have drivers for SATA natively installed and available. If you want to dual boot you can go to http://apcmag.com/5485/dualbooting_vista_and_xp and get started. If you have questions you can visit a site that I write hardware reviews for and the forums are very helpful for laptops, best in the business. http://forum.notebookreview.com/ Pm if you have any questions and good luck.
     
  14. jason jupiter

    jason jupiter weird/ rare g1 KO hunter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,215
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    when you put in an xp installation disc the area where it says "install" is grayed out, vista won't let you do it!

    i did the same thing, upgraded my dell to vista and it was taking up a gig of pf speed just sitting there. i had to backup, format my hardrive from bios, and then put in the xp install cd.

    since then i've found plenty of nice vista-skins for xp. a company called stardocks makes windows blinds and desktop x, you can get transparencies and widgets using these.
     
  15. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,505
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    depends on how much HDD you plan on using...i dont recommend dual-boot as it takes up more space...and if you aint gonna use Vista every, then i dont see the point.
     
  16. RabidYak

    RabidYak Go Ninja Go Ninja Go

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    8,465
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +27
    Boot from an XP install CD and follow the on screen instructions to format the system partition and install XP onto it.

    If the Vista installation was upgraded from XP rather then a fresh install, XP will still be on the drive if nobody has deleted it and you can use that to switch back without doing a clean format and install. Thats a bit more round the houses thougth, so its not worth posting how to do it unless somebody actually wants to.

    You'll most likely have a restore partition for the preinstalled OS which you can use to send it back to out-of-the-box state. If its XP then i'd suggest using that instead of a sperate install CD since it'll be a legally acticated copy thats already paid for, instructions and any necessary boot CDs should have come with the machine.

    If the restore partion is Vista, keep it anyway and be careful not to delete it during a full XP setup. you might not want to use it now, but you'll need to put it back on if you send the machine back under warrenty and its £80 you'll save later if you decide to give it another go on the machine.

    As others have said, make sure that the appropriate drivers are available for XP before going back. If its the sort of spec thats having trouble running Vista for standard day to day activity, that shoulden't be much of a problem since it'll be older hardware anyway.
     
  17. Prowl_Delta_31

    Prowl_Delta_31 Eating your donuts

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Posts:
    2,640
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +1
    When I was buying a new laptop the computer salesman told me that most computers are not backwards compatible with xp because of the drivers. I bought a machine with 1gig ram and it was slow as all hell but I upgraded to 2 gig and it runs 1000 times better. Maybe just put more memory in it.
     
  18. Severus

    Severus Curmudgeon TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +0
    Right. I've had to do a number of driver hunts for Vista machines.

    A few tips on that if you try it:
    • Generic chipset driver packages from the hardware manufactuerer are your friend
    • A lot of the Vista drivers will actually work in XP for things like modems and card readers, IE if you specifiy the specific driver to use and tell windows to use the damn thing regardless of the consequences.
    • Use Unknown Device Identifier or a visual inspection to get your hardware model number and try the manufacturer's website.
    • Try DriverAgent.com if you can at least find nic drivers. It's for pay, but it's a fantastic site and they'll let you scan your computer first to let you know what they've got available.
     
  19. RabidYak

    RabidYak Go Ninja Go Ninja Go

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    8,465
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +27
    I woulden't worry about drivers drying up for common components for another year or so yet. XP is almost out of the consumer channel now, but allot of public sector and enterprise customers are still going to be using to be using 5.x flavors of Windows for thier systems until 6 has been fully ironed out regurdless of thier hardware.

    Stuff like this isn't being helped by the fact that the entry level supply chain is clogged with XP leftovers that quite clearly arn't cut out for running Vista effectively. If you really must buy something from that end of the market, at least wait until all the antiques with old single core chips and/or 512 RAM are gone.
     
  20. getoninja

    getoninja 1# Porno Moderentor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Posts:
    1,308
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    Im curious how the XP install went? cause Im thinking of the doing the same with my Laptop. But I just want to do a clean install.
     

Share This Page