Guitar Advice Needed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Evan Goldsborough, Jul 31, 2007.

1. Evan Goldsborough

Evan Goldsborough Freelance Negotiator

Let me say first that I'm on a very limited budget here, based upon negotiation with the parents. Secondly, the more important of the two questions I have is the second one. if you'd rather just skip down and see if you can't help with that one, that'd be fine.

As I'm starting to learn guitar, and getting better at it (considering I'm self-taught, I think I'm doing pretty fair so far), I'm looking for a new electric. Anything to replace the one I have now: I mean, I don't know what make my current one is, but it's pretty much a poor Strat copy (with Tele-style pickup configuration and a non-functioning tone knob). Primary issue facing me is my lack of a job, but my father's a bass player and I could probably convince him to help me buy one.

I've determined that I eventually wish to get a Fender Esquire (inspired by Syd Barrett, mainly), but that's running for $600 or more in most online stores I've seen, and that's too far out of negotiation range at the moment. I AM keeping watch on eBay for any decent deals, but I'm also interested if any of you know of any online stores that I may be able to find a significant discount on it.

(for reference, this is the model I speak of: http://www.fender.com/products//search.php?partno=0131502303 )

Now, in my searching of eBay for the Esquire, I come across this auction: http://cgi.ebay.com/kent-electric-g...oryZ2384QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem