Gratuity and Tipping servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by UltraMagnus2008, Oct 5, 2010.

1. UltraMagnus2008

UltraMagnus2008 Autobot

News Credits:
    Your thoughts and comments? I worked in a restaurant for the last year and a half and It was one of the worst jobs I've ever had due to a number of reasons ranging from corporate rules and structuring, management and lastly non-tippers. There are a lot of people that think most restaurants pay their employees at least minimum wage, and thats only true in some states and restaurants that are privately owned. Servers (myself included) usually only make 2.15 an hour and that all goes to covering taxes. We would hit overtime at the end of the week 48 hours+ and never see anything for it. I'm not looking for a pity party here. I chose to apply there because I had never done it before and wanted to try it. I just want people to be more aware, servers usually bust their asses to get by and are taken advantage of more than is fair. Im not delusional about it this either, if you give bad service you deserve little to absolutely no tip, but this is 2010 and there are still people out there that somehow in their upbringing were never taught the rules of the road.
    Well what do you think? What do you base your tipping on? I am an open book of info on my restaurant and since I no longer work there I can say screw that place :) 

2. Recall

Recall Player Select

News Credits:
    When I went to NYC I was uber reluctant to tip as much as I was told, I disliked the fact that it was my fault that someone has a job where their employers under pay them. It's like one giant guilt trip.

I do tip. I just hate that it's expected.

Last edited: Oct 5, 2010
  3. ArmadaJetfire

ArmadaJetfire <b><font color=blue>I voted for Super_Megatron and