Got a new computer. Good deal?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Primus, Mar 3, 2008.

  1. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    For the record, Deefuzz bought the same thing so if I was a sucker, he was too. It was $600. Just the PC. No monitor, etc.

     
  2. DevilzFan

    DevilzFan CobraIsland.com Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    17,557
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +0
    Looks pretty good to me.

    What is this VGA that you speak of? :p 

    My Radeon has 2 DVI outputs. One goes to my HD monitor, and the other has a DVI/HDMI adaptor with the HDMI cable going to my HDTV.

    :D 

    But looks like a solid purchase there!
     
  3. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,505
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    they still sell computers with modem cards in it...

    and just curious, what brand of comp is this...Dell, HP, Sony, Gateway, E-Machine???


    but for a quad-core, thats pretty good...especially what you can upgrade it to.
     
  4. Gordon_4

    Gordon_4 The Big Engine

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Posts:
    11,862
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +131
    I'm a bit puzzled on two things: why such a bogan graphics card, when a 512MB 8800GT would have been better value.

    and why not use three 1GB memory sticks?


    Other than that, fucking solid rig mate :) 
     
  5. SureShot90

    SureShot90 Peace=superior firepower

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    2,432
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Looks really sweet. But you gotta swap that GFX for a GF8800GT, GF9600GT or HD3870.
     
  6. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,505
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    its dual channel, which i think means that the memory must be used in pairs...
     
  7. Dark_Convoy

    Dark_Convoy Old Bastard Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    17,201
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +0
    You got it off woot.com didn't you.

    Either that or it was the exact same one they were selling yesterday.

    I wish I had the extra cash to get one this week. :( 
     
  8. Deefuzz

    Deefuzz Beard On! Beardmaster! Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    13,306
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    246
    Likes:
    +3
    Ebay:
    Actually yeah Primus and I both bought one of these from Woot.com yesterday :) 

    To answer OmegaScourge's question it is a Gateway. We were both in the market for a new PC and it seemed pretty decent spec wise for the price so we said "what the hell"
     
  9. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    Well, the video card does have component outputs so it can be hooked up to a TV that way for HD video if need be.

    I don't play any computer games so I think the video card will probably suffice. The quad core should do wonders for my 3D render times in 3D Studio Max too.
     
  10. e3nine

    e3nine Poop.

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    3,875
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +7
    It's a solid deal.

    The Q6600 processor runs at 65nm. The newest rounds of Intel Core 2 Quads (Q9450) will be released in 2 weeks. These burn at 45nm. With the cooler operating temperature, it's more efficient out of the box.

    Currently, the Q6600 chip alone is $200 (+tax) from Microcenter.
     

Share This Page