Getting a genuine DOS system

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Streck, Oct 21, 2007.

  1. Streck

    Streck <B><FONT COLOR="#FF0000">QED</B></FONT> Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    9,991
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +0
    Fed up with the quirks of DOSBox, virtual machines, ports that aren't quite the same, and laptops that save space but whose sound hardware is flaky at best, I've decided to get a bonafide DOS gaming rig. It's on its way to me right now, an IBM Aptiva 2168-M71. Pentium 133 MHz, 16 MB RAM, 1.7 GB hard drive, 4x CD-ROM, Windows 95 OSR2:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    It comes with an "Mwave" 33.6 modem/sound card combo that I am ditching immediately and replacing with a Sound Blaster 16 CT1740 (ISA, non-PnP, and a real Yamaha OPL3 chip):

    [​IMG]

    Specs on the sound card are here.

    Most of the titles I'll play on this are '90-'95 vintage with 256-color VGA, so the onboard video should suffice, though I'll definitely need a separate card for anything on the order of Quake 1.
     
  2. EmineX

    EmineX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Posts:
    232
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +1
    Ahhhhhhh! Mwave! Die, die die!

    I had the same model aptiva in the 90's. The mwave modem / sound card made me tear my hair out. I ended up purchasing a 28.8 ISA modem and creative labs soundblaster card.

    You couldn't use the modem and the sound card at the same time. It was ridiculous.
     
  3. moocow

    moocow God.

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Posts:
    210
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    How much did that cost?
     
  4. Streck

    Streck <B><FONT COLOR="#FF0000">QED</B></FONT> Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    9,991
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +0
    $26 for the computer, $4 for the sound card.

    Too much, I know, but absolutely worth it.
     
  5. Aaron

    Aaron Master of Crystalocution Moderator Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    21,680
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    307
    Likes:
    +1
    Twitter:
    Ah memories...

    I know that somewhere at Dad's there's an IBM 8088 kicking around.
     
  6. Dark_Convoy

    Dark_Convoy Old Bastard Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    17,201
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +0
    Ahhh, I love the Yamaha OPL3 chip so much I recently downloaded a VSTi emulator of it.

    I ought to get an old computer with a soundblaster in it just for that chip!
     
  7. Streck

    Streck <B><FONT COLOR="#FF0000">QED</B></FONT> Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    9,991
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +0
    The original SB and SBPro had OPL2. OPL3 is in early models of the SB16 (CT1740, CT1750, CT1770), but later SB16's, such as those with Plug-and-Play and/or the ViBRA chipset, all used knockoffs or integrated it into larger ICs. Same goes for the AWE32 and AWE64.
     
  8. KA

    KA PENIS GOES WHERE?!!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    23,222
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +17
    sweet. ive been considering to rig one up for myself to play my old lucasarts game.

    good times.
     
  9. Zero Prime

    Zero Prime Windows user no more

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    2,587
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    I wonder if a couple of Voodoos could be installed in that.
     
  10. Razorclaw

    Razorclaw Are ya gonna draw pistols

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    5,024
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    30 bucks is small fries what a machine like that. I would have bought it for 50.

    My first PC computer was like it: A Intel P133 CPU, 16 MB RAM, 1,3 GB HDD, S3 Trio video card, ESS688 sound card. It was awesome.

    I miss playing Warcraft 2, Diablo, Quake, Duke Nukem 3D, Crusader games etc. on it. Good times, good times.
     
  11. Mike

    Mike Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,738
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    i got a couple of similar machines lying under the stairs along with two 486's as well.

    Though I would rather NOT play those old games again, the memories of the games I have are much better then what the games were really like :lol 
     
  12. Motor_Master

    Motor_Master Lets the balls touch TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Posts:
    11,561
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Likes:
    +22
    Ive now reclaimed the Pentium 166 I sold by brother back in '99... you've just given me ideas :thumb 
     
  13. Omnius

    Omnius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Posts:
    11,890
    News Credits:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +8
    Gah I disposed of my old P120 last year after a lengthy period in storage. :( 
     
  14. Frognal

    Frognal Prodigal Son Returned

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Posts:
    4,503
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    You don't like ScummVM?
     
  15. ckhtiger

    ckhtiger old skool fool

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    6,318
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +3
    I hope you at least use a modern screen ;) 
     
  16. toma

    toma eskimo in disguise

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,583
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    i remember when my 486 dx2 66mhz was too fast for soe games and i had to turn off the turbo button for them to play.
     
  17. Streck

    Streck <B><FONT COLOR="#FF0000">QED</B></FONT> Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    9,991
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +0
    I doubt it - this only has ISA slots, and unless I'm mistaken, all Voodoo cards were either AGP or PCI.

    I've got a Pentium III 800 MHz sitting around that would be fine for mid-to-late-90s gaming. It just needs appropriate sound and video cards.
     
  18. atlianz

    atlianz TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    4,666
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +0
    I got that same model Aptiva in '96 or '97. That damn thing cost about about $1500 back in the days!
     
  19. KA

    KA PENIS GOES WHERE?!!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    23,222
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +17
    nah dude, moroni prime dude pm'd me on emulators but i just cant be arsed to do something abt it.
     
  20. ambushbug74

    ambushbug74 Stroke me, Stroke me! TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Posts:
    7,750
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +0
    I wonder if I still have my IBM 486 from `92? That thing cost me about $3000 back then and it didn't even have a cd rom drive.
     

Share This Page