GCN Question

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Scrapper6, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. Scrapper6

    Scrapper6 Lord of Constructicons

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    5,228
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +7
    So, was there some kind of defective copy of Sonic Adventure 2 Battle sold at any point? Cause I've had the game for a while and there have been glitches, but yesterday about four or five times it kept giving me the An Error has Occurred message and that's never happened before now.

    I don't want my GCN to be failing like my PS2 did. I've never had any Nintendo systems crap out on me... Well at least not without my being the catalyst. I think my SNES stopped working right because of the half a dozen times I yanked the cartridge out without shutting the game off beforehand. And my original Gameboy had one to many accidents falling out of my hand so some of the game reading chips broke off. None of my NES systems ever developed the won't play games at all problems though as far as I can recall.

    I don't see any disk blemishes or scratches, but it's hard to tell on those tiny disks especially if the scratch is like less then an inch long.

    Any insight would be helpful. But considering SA2 is the only game I've ever encountered problems with I have to assume it's gotta be the disk itself and not my system.
     
  2. Roanstalker

    Roanstalker Great Baan Gaan fan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    12,362
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +12
    I've had the problem appear on several games. But only after I've played on the GC for ages.
     
  3. CripNite

    CripNite That Whack Canuck Dude

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,356
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    Your Gamecube is trying to spare you the misery of a Sonic game. It's normal.
     
  4. toma

    toma eskimo in disguise

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,583
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    i heard that some gamecubes can have a problem with the lens becoming uncalibrated and causing errors 10-15 minutes into gameplay. there's an faq out there somewhere that describes how to fix it, but i don't know anything about it since i've never had that problem with mine... so really i have no idea.
     
  5. Scrapper6

    Scrapper6 Lord of Constructicons

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    5,228
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +7
    Mine usually doesn't act up until three hours straight of game play. :lolol 
     

Share This Page