Galvatron question/batteries.............

Discussion in 'Transformers General Discussion' started by Ruination04, Jan 28, 2006.

  1. Ruination04

    Ruination04 8 Years Old Since 1984!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    6,110
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +5
    Ebay:
    Any idea as to why they changed the G1 Galvatron from having a 9v battery to needing 2 AA batteries? Is it because it now has sound as well?? What's the deal?
     
  2. REDLINE

    REDLINE longer days, plz? Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    27,866
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +9
    well double-As are cheaper and last longer nowadays, maybe that's why?

    Andy
     
  3. Chaos Incarnate

    Chaos Incarnate Not just a name.

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,286
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +19
    I'm sure they just felt the need to update it.
     
  4. FreshDebesh

    FreshDebesh <b><font color=brickred>oye chak de phatte!</font> Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    8,862
    Trophy Points:
    237
    Likes:
    +3
    Yeah, I think nowadays, AA batteries are the most common types.
     
  5. Gears

    Gears buh-buh-body ya Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    24,588
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +13
    Ebay:
    They changed it so people wouldn't take their 9V battery from their smoke detector just to listen to Galvy, thusly preventing a fire hazard.
     
  6. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,808
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Likes:
    +26
    galvatron always had sound.

    9 Volt batteries are pretty outdated anyways.
     
  7. Optimus-JD

    Optimus-JD Team Laser Explosion!

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    4,119
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    It was done simply because the same effect can be reproduced with current technology at a much lower voltage.
     
  8. SoundwaveMajor

    SoundwaveMajor DarkWarLord of Insanity

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Posts:
    564
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    as far as I know 9 volt battries are not used as much as thay used to be.
     
  9. Sol Fury

    Sol Fury The British Butcher Administrator News Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    35,815
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    362
    Likes:
    +360
    Facebook:
    Instagram:
    I think it's just a standard in toys these days.
    Also, he takes AAA, not AA. I think the soundchip has been modified, though, the SFX are much crisper than the old one, and the voicebites are load and clear. The Transformation SFX sounds like it did on TV!
     
  10. Ruination04

    Ruination04 8 Years Old Since 1984!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    6,110
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +5
    Ebay:
    I was going by what was listed on BBTS and they said AA.


    Well, yeah, but the speech sounds are new and that's what I was refferring too.....either way, I guess that couldn't have been the reason why then......
     
  11. Shipley

    Shipley none

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,687
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Likes:
    +7
    get a lithium 9 volt and it'll last 10 years in a smoke detector. 9V last longer, AAs and AAAs are cheaper.
     

Share This Page