G1 Jpaneese tin set question

Discussion in 'Transformers General Discussion' started by RoboRic, Mar 21, 2007.

  1. RoboRic

    RoboRic Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Hello, I recently purchased the G1 Japanese(or chineese, i dunno) tin set with all of the episodes. Yeah, it's good, but there is one problem, the menu, with the "Play, commercials, scene selection" and all of that is in Japan-or Chi-nese! Can someone help me?
     
  2. DrSpengler

    DrSpengler The Real Ghostbuster

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Posts:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    Well, just to answer one thing, the set is Chinese, not Japanese.
     
  3. Bumble Prime

    Bumble Prime all the time

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Posts:
    2,850
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    hmmmm a chinese issued boxset with chinese menus???

    thats odd, id send it back if i were you
     
  4. littleiron

    littleiron Little I.N.S.A.N.E IroN

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Posts:
    476
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +5
    Give me print-screens, then I'll tell you what they are saying.
     
  5. Triformis

    Triformis Insecticon Fanatic TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Posts:
    4,659
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +0
    Does it matter all that much? If the episodes are numbered, then just consult tvtome.com or somewhere for an episode list and match 'em up. Other than that, I can't imagine what else you'd need to read...just hit "play" and enjoy!
     
  6. RoboRic

    RoboRic Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Yes, it does. I can't read japanese, and they are not numbered.
     
  7. flux convoy

    flux convoy RIP Botcon.

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,077
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Location:
    Spinning my wheels into the void.
    Likes:
    +47
    Ebay:
    Just press play. It's really that simple. There's only three other options than the episodes. If you've already seen an epsiode just skip ahead to the next chapter until you get where you want to be. I figured it out immediately and I certainly can't read Chinese. The discs themselves are numbered and play the episodes in order. There is also the episode listing on the first page of the "book" the discs are in.
     
  8. Nevermore

    Nevermore It's self-perpetuating a parahumanoidarianised!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    13,950
    News Credits:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Germany
    Likes:
    +403
    As somebody else said, it's Chinese, not Japanese.

    And Littleiron already offered his help.
     
  9. Lumpy

    Lumpy Taylor Swift Actionmaster Super Mod

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    18,920
    News Credits:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +33
    in one of the other threads about this set, i posted about making custom cover art. maybe i could also put in a translation of the menus to help guide people....i may have to look into that...
     
  10. littleiron

    littleiron Little I.N.S.A.N.E IroN

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Posts:
    476
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +5
    Heheh, I'v been using Cantonese and Mandrin for more than 20 years.
    I might not write a good essay but shouldn't have problem reading traditional or simplified Hanzis... I think.
     
  11. QuinJester

    QuinJester T. Bison

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    8,119
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +6
    My version doesn't even have text menus... just a big autobot face which you select things off of. The episode titles are in both english and chinese... once you figure out which part of the "face" to choose, it's pretty simple. I don't know if there are different versions or not...
     
  12. flux convoy

    flux convoy RIP Botcon.

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,077
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Location:
    Spinning my wheels into the void.
    Likes:
    +47
    Ebay:
    Your version is the same version everyone else has of this specific tin box product. There's no need to select anything at all. Just press play.
     
  13. RoboRic

    RoboRic Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    are you guys talking about the set with the keychain and the pictures and the "book" dvd holder?
     
  14. Triformis

    Triformis Insecticon Fanatic TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Posts:
    4,659
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +0
    Most likely. Hit "play" and go! I STILL don't get why you need to read stuff.
     
  15. littleiron

    littleiron Little I.N.S.A.N.E IroN

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Posts:
    476
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +5
  16. Nevermore

    Nevermore It's self-perpetuating a parahumanoidarianised!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    13,950
    News Credits:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Germany
    Likes:
    +403
    Hitting "play" without understanding what the menus say might blow up the DVD player!

    Worse, it might blow up the world!
     
  17. RoboRic

    RoboRic Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    1. How could I hit play if I can't read it?

    2. Littleiron:yes, it is.

    3. quinjester, which version is it? Pic?
     
  18. QuinJester

    QuinJester T. Bison

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    8,119
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +6
    My version is the one that littleiron posted pics of. The default highlited option (top of the autobot head) is "play all". Right is "episode select" left is who the heck cares, and the bottom will make the dvd stop playing.
     
  19. Runamuck

    Runamuck Swindle Knows Best

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    7,331
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +16
    Awesome! Thanks for the links, bro. This tin set really looks good. I wasn't even thinking of getting it, but when I saw these pics, I am REALLY thinking about getting it now. The art on those cards looks great, too.

    And RoboRic, I think they mean hit play on the remote...


    Edit: Is the set regionless?
     
  20. RoboRic

    RoboRic Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Uggghhh!! My remote DOES NOT HAVE A PLAY BUTTON.
     

Share This Page