Repro/Sticker: G1 Jetfire Repro box

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by aurascope, Aug 7, 2008.

  1. aurascope

    aurascope Kitbash Resource Indexer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Posts:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    This is a Transformers G1 Jetfire repro box I made.
    Perfectly restored to C10 condition,
    by using two C9.0 boxes.

    80 hours of labour went into this.

    Interested folks can mail me at aurascope at yahoo.com.sg
     

    Attached Files:

  2. REDLINE

    REDLINE longer days, plz? Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    27,867
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +3
    care to elaborate? I have no idea what you've done here that took 80 hours to accomplish!
     
  3. aurascope

    aurascope Kitbash Resource Indexer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Posts:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    the restoration. I only had a A4 sized scanner to work with. was working a jigsaw puzzle from 2 different donor jetfire boxes.
     
  4. MushroomPrime

    MushroomPrime ******

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Posts:
    3,822
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +3
    I'm a little lost as well on this... box.
     
  5. joopsta

    joopsta loves Animated

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Posts:
    819
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +6
    I'm impressed!! Can you specify some more on how you did it from start to end?
     
  6. aurascope

    aurascope Kitbash Resource Indexer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Posts:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    hmm, take 2 jetfire boxes with flaws and tears in different places. scan the good parts with the A4 scanner I bought, combine image digitally while watching CSI and House on DVD (tv is beside the computer) and serve. *wink*
     
  7. juise

    juise TFW2005 Token Negro

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    2,467
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Nice work. How and where did you get the box printed?
     
  8. aurascope

    aurascope Kitbash Resource Indexer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Posts:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    you can find large format printers from your local yellowpages. but be warned that it is expensive if you only print one.
     
  9. Skywarp181

    Skywarp181 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Posts:
    1,810
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Looks great!,

    Whats the paper stock you used? Who printed it for you? i cant find
    anyone willing to print these for me:confused: 
     
  10. PrimulArchangel

    PrimulArchangel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Posts:
    3,696
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    This box is great ...
    I looked around at print shop in my area for my boxes and 99% of them will not print anything unless you buy at least 200 to 300 copies of each, and then at least 800 to 1000 copies to see any kind of discount from them..
    Then i found a place that will do single print copies BUT they were 75$ to 95$ per box which is fine if you are making something for yourself but to make them and want to sell them you would have to charge at least that so you can make your money back..
    This is why i print all my boxes at home. Its still expencive but it cuts the cost way down..

    Great job on this box though :) 
     
  11. valguerra

    valguerra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Posts:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    You know it would probably be cheaper to buy a wide load printer. Than you can print them from home. You can buy wide load printer refurbished for around 700 humdred. They are currently selling some for 200 dollars discontinue HP model. Those would probably work find for this type of projects.
     
  12. PrimulArchangel

    PrimulArchangel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Posts:
    3,696
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Thats an idea but to me it would not be a good investment. Plus i bought a refurbished printer from Canon once and it broke in a month, returned it, they sent me anothe refurbished (so they say) and that one broke in a week and then i sent it back yet again for a different model and it broke about 2 weeks after lol , then i got my money back lol .. And to buy a discontinued model wold not be a good idea because if the model is discontinued then the repair parts probably are as well or cost a ton to be fixed if it ever broke down. With my luck i would go buy something like that and then Hasbro would shut me down a week later for making oxes lol...
     
  13. aurascope

    aurascope Kitbash Resource Indexer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Posts:
    795
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    yes you are right. this box cost me about US$100 to print.
     
  14. strata32000

    strata32000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Posts:
    524
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    You did an amazing job my friend.
    Being someone that has made his share of box layouts I know how hard
    it was to work off of a small scanner.
    Did you redo the whole layout?
    I don't think many people know how much time goes in to such a
    large box.
    Once again great job!
     
  15. Shakira

    Shakira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Posts:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Take my word strata makes some bitchin boxes! knows what he is talking about. XD
     

Share This Page