FP Superion Kit - Why so expensive?

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by cjranck, Aug 17, 2010.

1. cjranck

cjranck Well-Known Member

I will admit that I am fairly new to TF collecting, and I have ordered the recent FP crossfire sets for Bruticus, but when I look at those compared to the Superion add on sets, there is no comparison. The Bruticus ones are ACTUAL transformers (albeit 3rd party) that contain connector pieces, while the Superion set only comes with a few accessories, no new head, and no replacement appendages (no new bots). So for you veteran collectors out there, why is this so expensive ($125+ on most sites)? Please share your opinions/facts. Thanks!

2. Miggytron

Miggytron Slag Sucking Saurian

Supply and demand. It's sold out so that's why it's that expensive.

3. zealottoyou

zealottoyou Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    125 is marked up by the site you are looking at.

4. juise

juise TFW2005 Token Negro

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Yeah you missed the boat on these. There are a few reasons for the cost of this set.

1) At this point they are sold out, and you're paying post retail prices now.

2) Fans Project was younger company then. This was their second release if memory serves, so most cost in general havent been dialed in yet (and probably still arent).

3) If what I read on the internet (AKA this forum) is to be believed. They did not design this set. So there was some licensing cost involved in producing this set.

5. motorhead9999

motorhead9999 Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Yeah. I think when the set was originally released, it retailed for what, $45US? Which wasn't bad. Cheapest I've found it online for was 125 new, and i think i paid 100 used for mine. Just wait until Munitioner and Explorer sell out. If you think Superion was bad aftermarket, just wait till those 2 start climbing after inventory is gone.