Minor/Repaint: First attempt to customize!

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by heshanj, Jul 31, 2008.

1. heshanj

heshanj Banned

News Credits:
    hey guys..
    im new at this. new at collecting, actually. i picked up movie voyager first strike optimus prime a while back. i dunno why..coz at the time, i didnt know much so i thought he was the best prime to go with my collection. opened him up, hated the colors and pretty much everything, so i bought the premium leader prime the next week. i tried selling this guy, but apparently i got ripped off at toys r us...paid Singapore $50, and all other toy shops have reduced the price to 30..so i dont think there's any point in selling him for 10 bucks, and someone suggested i customize him..i thought it'd be a good one to start off on...so i need some suggestions/help, as ive never done this before..

first of all, any idea on wat i can do to make it look better?
    secondly, wat tools etc would i need to put these ideas into effect?
    and of course, i'd like to start simple, so keep ur ideas at beginner level :D 

i hope someone can help me out here, coz i dont think its worth selling, and i really dont like the way this prime looks now...so please let me know

Attached Files:

2. Bumblebee2008

Bumblebee2008 Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    I turned my Voyager Prime into G1 type Ultra Magnus, no modification needed just a straight re-paint.

The windows on Prime's chest in bot mode make a good stensil for the armour that G1 Magnus had.

As for tools, I used warhammer (games workshop) paints and a selection of brushes.

If you want to have a look at it, the Ultra Magnus I did is currently on page 13 of the repaints/ minor mods section.

3. Geminii

Geminii Toyetic multiformophile

Well, the usual options for a Prime are -

- pimped to bring out the best aspects of the molding (can get quite advanced)
    - magnus repaint (white and blue)
    - nemesis repaint (black and purple/red)