Firefox speed tweak

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dark_Convoy, Nov 30, 2006.

  1. Dark_Convoy

    Dark_Convoy Old Bastard Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    17,201
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +0
    This works great, firefox seems at least 2x faster than it was before.

    http://forevergeek.com/open_source/make_firefox_faster.php
     
  2. Chaos Muffin

    Chaos Muffin Misadventure Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    28,751
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +4
    Hell yeah, Clint Eastwood stole that jet and said F*** ya'll
     
  3. Mike

    Mike Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,738
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    ........ dude.

    thanks for that!!! It loads everything like instantly now!

    EAT THAT IE!!
     
  4. Psychrome86

    Psychrome86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Posts:
    481
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    now can you lower my ping on my online games? :) 

    edit: would this bog the server if everyone did it?
     
  5. KA

    KA PENIS GOES WHERE?!!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    23,225
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +17
    think in russian!
     
  6. TSFC

    TSFC Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    1,181
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    Well, let's see....

    EDIT:

    Holy.
    Shit.
    Balls.

    :-O
     
  7. Weirdwolf

    Weirdwolf TFYLP Podcast Founder TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,057
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +86
    Odd, the first two I already had set to "true". Probably because I have the Fasterfox extension. Upped the maxed requests, though, I had it set on 8.
     
  8. KA

    KA PENIS GOES WHERE?!!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    23,225
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +17
    holy shit i'm going at ludicrous speed.

    my brain...is going...into...my ass!
     
  9. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    neato! nice find.
     
  10. Gen. Magnus

    Gen. Magnus Everything is Awesome

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Posts:
    6,838
    News Credits:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ, USA
    Likes:
    +13
    Wow. Just wow! This speeds it up like mad!
     
  11. Cast

    Cast Roll the dice

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,891
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +9
    damn that's a great trick.
     
  12. Lance Halberd

    Lance Halberd oh hai

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Posts:
    5,780
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +3
    It's KA! He's gone to plaid!!
     
  13. A_U_T_O_B_O_T

    A_U_T_O_B_O_T G1 Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Posts:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    Awesome quote from a classic movie.

    When traveling to different pages it feels like all I have to do is say "Ludicrous Speed..GO!"
     
  14. Codimus Prime

    Codimus Prime Missouri Toy Hunter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    3,515
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    yah... it works.. thats cool!
     
  15. Optimus

    Optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    3,897
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +12
    Twitter:
    YouTube:
    Doesn't seem to be working for me.
     
  16. Weirdwolf

    Weirdwolf TFYLP Podcast Founder TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,057
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +86
    Are you on dial-up?
     
  17. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,508
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    damn, already had all that all set. maybe it was faster before it did it, who knows.
     
  18. Chaos Incarnate

    Chaos Incarnate Not just a name.

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,282
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +1
    I'm running 1.5.0.6.bacon or something, would I have to do this again when I upgrade to 2.0, and would it be done the same way?
     
  19. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,508
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    it'll be there when you upgrade to 2.0....seeing that i did that.
     
  20. Optimus

    Optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    3,897
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +12
    Twitter:
    YouTube:
    No. But I have started to see my speed increase somewhat. My internet connection has been kinda wonky for a little while so that may be affecting it.
     

Share This Page