Final Fantasy II Problem

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by samtheman, Jun 30, 2010.

  1. samtheman

    samtheman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Posts:
    1,204
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    I recently purchased FFII (north american release) and when I turn it on it just goes straight to first cutscene of the game and doesn't even ask me to choose a profile. Is this just due to the save battery needing to be replaced?
     
  2. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,619
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +34
    Which system?

    Nevermind. Just saw that you mentioned battery. That might be the case since those old games rarely glitched over other things.
     
  3. Galaxy Convoy

    Galaxy Convoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Posts:
    8,350
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +0
    Yeah, if he's talking about the SNES version, then that's probably the case.
     
  4. Boulder

    Boulder Rock Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,923
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +14
    Have you tried getting to a save point and then creating a profile? It may be that the previous saves have wiped from the system. If you have, I would wager that the battery is kaput. IIRC, the first time you start the game it goes from the title screen right into the open cutscene, so it may no be reading any saves on the cartridge.

    (I'm assuming that you're referencing Final Fantasy II [US Title] for the SNES aka Final Fantasy IV).
     
  5. grimlock1972

    grimlock1972 "No Mas" My Wallet

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    18,199
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +59
    I have to agree with the consensus and say its a dead battery and sadly im not sure if there is any way to get a new one put in.
     
  6. samtheman

    samtheman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Posts:
    1,204
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    Yes, I've tried that and it just goes to the first cutscene again. And yes, that is the game im referencing.

    I put new batteries in myself. It's a simple soldering job but I like to avoid it if there are simplier soultions. I guess I'm going to have to though.
     

Share This Page