Fat PS3's work again. Check for signs of sentience before playing...

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Weirdwolf, Feb 28, 2010.

  1. Weirdwolf

    Weirdwolf TFYLP Podcast Founder TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,057
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +68
    PSN is down, some titles experiencing game-crashing errors

    Seems to only be affecting the "fat" original-design PS3s and not the new Slims. My buddy just picked up MW2 tonight and we were going to get on and play. I keep getting the 8001050F error when I try to connect. My aforementioned friend is logged in no problem.

    So if any of you are having problems, you're not alone. Hope they fix it soon.
     
  2. Bilbo Boxhead

    Bilbo Boxhead Geewunners GTFO

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    289
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Happened to me and it's pissing me off.
     
  3. Counterpunch?

    Counterpunch? Interior Renovator

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,334
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +37
    Ebay:
    Yea buddy...

    And it may have erased all the trophies for the last game you earned on in.

    Hey...this is lots of fun.
     
  4. UnicronHound

    UnicronHound Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,062
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +3
    Ebay:
    Same here, I was going to play CoD:W@W. They had better fix it soon, also you may want to check your themes. ALL of mine have been corrupted because of this crap. Also as for trophies nothing has happened to mine(knock on wood).
     
  5. ZeroMayhem

    ZeroMayhem Henshin a Go-Go Baby!

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,365
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +8
    That's some weird stuff going on. I have a Slim but am content to leave it off until things clear up just in case.
     
  6. UnicronHound

    UnicronHound Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,062
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +3
    Ebay:
    Some playstation forums claim it's because the systems think it's a leap year, let's just hope our fatties didn't crap out on us if it's true about the leap year thing.
     
  7. Weirdwolf

    Weirdwolf TFYLP Podcast Founder TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,057
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +68
    If your themes get corrupted, you can always re-download them from the PS Store once this mess is sorted out. I backed up my game saves the other day and did a complete reformat to take the Linux partition off and clear up some room on the HD. When I re-installed my games and game saves, my themes were corrupted. The PS Store showed them in my downloaded folder, and allowed me to simply re-download them for free and all was good.
     
  8. UnicronHound

    UnicronHound Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,062
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +3
    Ebay:


    I just hope, if our hardware is corrupted from this shit, that Sony will replace everything. I also know about the PSN letting you redownload everything up to 5 times before you have to repurchase everything
     
  9. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    No, that's not how it works. You can redownload things a billion times, but you are limited to 5 PS3s. I have redownloaded Pain like 20 times, whenever I felt like playing it. You are limited to 5 PS3s to do this on, so if your friends or cousins have a PS3, you guys could share purchases by logging into his system, activating it with your account and downloading your games to his. If you ever buy another PS3, you simply have to deactivate yourself on his, and you can redownload all your crap onto your new PS3.

    My fiance's slim is working, but I haven't logged onto my Fatty, but my buddy said he was having trouble logging on.
     
  10. UnicronHound

    UnicronHound Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,062
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +3
    Ebay:
    /\/\It's affecting ALL fatty ps3 systems, even ones that have NEVER been online, also that's cool, I thought you could only download it 5 times.
     
  11. Toxicon

    Toxicon Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    5,332
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +10
    This is some serious fucking bullshit.
     
  12. Sideswipe80

    Sideswipe80 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Posts:
    10,367
    News Credits:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +27
    Well this isn't good. Can I still play my games offline?
     
  13. Ace Convoy

    Ace Convoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    6,817
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +9
    Ebay:
    I hope so because my sister leaves it on all day to charge her Ipod.......


    if anything happens to my Uncharted/Bad company 1/Rotf trofys I'm blaming it on Sony!!!
     
  14. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,799
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +21
    maybe. most don't work. this isnt a network issue, this is firmware. like already mentioned, it's happening with PS3s that have never been online.

    but you shouldnt try.

    some users are reporting that this is bricking their systems.

    keep your large PS3s off until there's a fix available.

    I turned mine on for a minute and it says it's 12/31/1999. turned it off. keeping it off. not gonna try to do anything on it.
     
  15. Mechafire

    Mechafire Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,150
    News Credits:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    291
    Likes:
    +33
    This really sucks hardcore.
     
  16. Sideswipe80

    Sideswipe80 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Posts:
    10,367
    News Credits:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +27
    Crud I turned my own earlier today to just surf the net. Internet browsing seems ok.
     
  17. General Magnus

    General Magnus Da Custodes of the Emprah

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Posts:
    12,916
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Likes:
    +11
    Son in other words, I canĀ“t play games offilne until Sony fixes this mess? Shitty.

    What could happen if I tried to turn my PS3 on now?
     
  18. MetalRyde

    MetalRyde is an a-hole with a heart.

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    12,980
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    Likes:
    +63
    my MAG trophies...

    F*CK!

    im affected by this too. mine is a 80 gb i got Oct. 2008.

    this is most upsetting.
     
  19. MetalRyde

    MetalRyde is an a-hole with a heart.

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    12,980
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    Likes:
    +63
    wait, im using my ps3 browser right now,

    ... im afraid to turn off my ps3.
     
  20. DevilzFan

    DevilzFan CobraIsland.com Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    17,557
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +0
    Yeah, went to boot up Heavy Rain a few minutes ago, and nada. Can't play it.

    My system date was also reset to 12/31/99
     

Share This Page