Facebook Technical Question

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Prowl, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,623
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Likes:
    +57
    Hey guys,

    Those of you familiar with Facebook, here's a question. Sometimes when you post a link to a story, Facebook populates the area with an image, and instead of just posting the address, it actually takes the information from the link and posts a header and small description (if available). Do you know why Facebook sometimes doesn't do this?
     
  2. yodafett

    yodafett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    1,445
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    I've never seen it not... It might be a parsing issue with Meta tags in the site itself, as I ASSUME that's where it pulls that data from...
     
  3. VaderPrime1

    VaderPrime1 Prepare for termination!

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Posts:
    5,195
    News Credits:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Likes:
    +21
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    I've had that happen before, but usually I just refresh the page and wait for it all to load then copy the link.

    It might be because of what your linking. Does it just happen for that link or different sites?

    It could depend on the site and their settings.
     
  4. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,623
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Likes:
    +57
    Same site, different stories, using the same method of publishing and writing
     
  5. TrueNomadSkies

    TrueNomadSkies Airachnid's ratservant

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Posts:
    15,861
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +9
    This might just be a coincidence, but sometimes I've needed to put a space (or even an entire line of nothing) before the url in order for facebook to recognize it.

    If that doesn't work, then tru it with & without the http://, and then try it without & without extra url info that doesn't need to be there.
     
  6. AnithaPrime

    AnithaPrime TURDUKEN

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Posts:
    2,005
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    I think I know what you're talking about. Happens to me sometimes when I share a Youtube video. If it doesn't work just Copy and Pasting then i try the share button, usually works then.
     
  7. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,623
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    337
    Likes:
    +57
    I've tried the Second suggestion, but I'll see if putting a space helps. Thanks!
     

Share This Page