External Hard Drive help

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Edge, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. Edge

    Edge weapon of destruction

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    146
    Likes:
    +0
    So a little while ago my father's external hard drive wont show on the comp at all, it requires an electrical outlet and always turns on when the comp turns on even if it is not being used. But it still shows being powered according to the green light, and it was never unpluged from the usb outlet. Anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,706
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +4
    1st thing to do is unplug it from the USB port and plug it back in.
    If that doesn't work, try another port.

    If that doesn't work try another PC.
     
  3. Edge

    Edge weapon of destruction

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    146
    Likes:
    +0
    I did those already still came up nadda
     
  4. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,706
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +4
    Those external drives used to be really easy to separate from the case.
    The newer ones are a little tricky.

    If you are comfortable with doing it, unplug the drive, open the case, and reseat the power and data cables.
    Those should be the only two.

    If not, that still does not rule out that the problem is in the external case.
    You could take the drive itself and hook it up to a motherboard on a PC -again, don't do this if you are not comfortable with it.
     
  5. MegaPrime33

    MegaPrime33 Follow me @NerdActivist TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,772
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +2
    To get back on topic it's possible there could be a drive letter mishap, where the external is trying to map itself to a letter that's already being used. You can check disk management to see if that's the case.

    However it could also be that it just doesn't work. I had that happen at work, with a 500gb 2 year old drive that gets power but wont get recognized.
     
  6. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Removed the off topic chat.
    Knock it off guys, unless you want a infraction.
     
  7. TheIncredibleHulk

    TheIncredibleHulk Find Gary Busey!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Posts:
    8,235
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +13
    I just ordered a 1.5 TB external drive. :) 
     
  8. Christian Prime

    Christian Prime SF Ibuki & Makoto Fanboy!

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    1,645
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +5
    Sorry for resurrecting this thread, but I've got this problem.

    Last night after the power cable for my some years old WD external hard drive was too bent out of shape, I had to change it with a longer one, then after cut&copy some video files from my laptop into that said HD, I attached the thing to the TV, but all I got from the thing was a blinking light and the disk wasn't spinning.

    I tried everything from switching power & usb cables, switching to different computers and different sockets as well as checking the various sites to see what the problem was.
    I got no answer and since I'm not a very technical person, I don't know what else to do.

    It is on the power output or is it on the HD itself now?

    I've been using this thing for several years whilst transferring the stuff I don't watch onto the smaller Seagate HD.
     
  9. flamepanther

    flamepanther Interested, but not really

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10,541
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +137
    If the power comes on, then it's likely either the disk, or the USB/Sata adaptor built into the case. When it fails to spin up, does it make a "click" sound? Or is it just silent?
     
  10. Christian Prime

    Christian Prime SF Ibuki & Makoto Fanboy!

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    1,645
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +5
    The latter.

    Blinking lights, yet nothing seems to be working. No hum whatsoever.

    I've only got 45% backed up on a portable hard drive.
    But the rest are on the larger one and that is the one that is making me worried. :( 
     
  11. flamepanther

    flamepanther Interested, but not really

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10,541
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +137
    Well, from a strictly non-technical standpoint, it's probably useless. Alternatively, I'd bust it open and see whether the actual disk works on another SATA/USB bridge card. If you've got a store nearby that sells computer parts, you can get an enclosure, a cradle, or an adaptor for pretty cheap.
     
  12. Christian Prime

    Christian Prime SF Ibuki & Makoto Fanboy!

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    1,645
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +5
    It's going to take me a while to find something of the sort.

    I know some stores as they're a train journey and distance walk, but I'm not certain if I should get something like a dockingstation (50 euros) or a quickport (30 euros) from Sharkoon.

    I've also got a dismantled Samsung HD as well, though I'm not certain if I could find something different for that and the Western Digital one. :/

    I'll try and take some photos on the ones I'm talking about.
     
  13. Christian Prime

    Christian Prime SF Ibuki & Makoto Fanboy!

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    1,645
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +5
    I've pryed open my WD 2 TB HD and compared it with the Samsung model to see what the difference were. The photo is at the bottom.

    I've checked also to see how on how I will need to slot them.

    I've only checked to see if I could find a bridge card. So far, I'm not that fortunate yet, but the nearest Tech store did have some SATA related items.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Should any of these items work despite the clicking noises from the Samsung and the blinking lights from the WD?

    I just don't want to splurge out more than 100 euros to recover data. :( 
     

    Attached Files:

  14. flamepanther

    flamepanther Interested, but not really

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10,541
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +137
    Unfortunately, you'd have to have one of those to know whether you need one of those. Do you have any friends who might have something similar you could test with?

    BTW, pretty good bet the Samsung is toast. Clicking sometimes indicates bad power, but usually it's a mechanical failure. The WD is a little more hopeful.
     
  15. Christian Prime

    Christian Prime SF Ibuki & Makoto Fanboy!

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    1,645
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +5
    Unfortunate for me as most of my friends live far away and technicaly less savvy than I am, whereas I seem to observe stuff a bit more.

    Do you mean these types of bridge cards?

    [​IMG]

    As for the Samsung, that doesn't sound very hopeful. :(  I've got some rare photos that I still remember that I couldn't be able to make a proper spare folder on another HD.
     
  16. flamepanther

    flamepanther Interested, but not really

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10,541
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +137
    Something like that should work fine, supposing the disk itself is still OK.
     

Share This Page