English Lit. Major Looking for Some Guidance.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Quantum_Penguin, Apr 27, 2008.

1. Quantum_Penguin

Quantum_Penguin Be seeing you...

So, I've gotten good grades all my life. I'm a talented writer. I've impressed every English professor I've ever had. I've gotten into a good school where I am finishing up my undergrad work... and I'm at that point in my life where I honestly don't know what to do with it all!

So far I'm a junior transfer at UC Santa Cruz. I'll finish a BA in English Language Literature next year and I'm thinking of going on to get credentialed as a high school English teacher or a teacher of English as a foreign language. I'm looking at a few masters programs now, especially Cal Poly Pomona, the University of Limerick, and the Monterey Institute, but I'm just not sure right now where I want to go.

I've also considered going all out for a doctorate, focusing on the early stuff like Beowulf and the Canterbury Tales.

So if there are any Lit. Majors and/or teachers on the board, could you offer a few suggestions for a fellow student? And are there any pitfalls I should watch out for?

Thanks.

2. cybertron2006

cybertron2006 Fly By Clockwork Pictures

so wat books have u made yet?

3. Quantum_Penguin

WTF?

4. cybertron2006

u said u were a lit. graduate. i just asked a question. sheesh

5. llamatron

llamatron Shut up, Nigel. TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    If you become a teacher then you'll have to deal with kids like cybertron2006.

The academic life is a pretty good life - possibly somewhat underpaid and overworked though. Although I disagree with the funding of that kind of research, that's the systems problem not yours/mine.

How many years will it take to get teaching creds added on? If you can teach English as a second language you'll be hot property overseas and will be able to travel and get employment easy with minimal visa troubles.

6. Quantum_Penguin