Employment Woes

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GogDog, Oct 24, 2006.

1. GogDog

GogDog Logic's wayward son Veteran

News Credits:
    I am a PC tech for a cable company. Basically, I do house calls all day to people who have interent access through us and have trouble getting online. It's actually a pretty good job. I work by myself, no one breathing down my back. I get to work on PCs all day, and the variety is enough to not let it get boring. Only one complaint, and its a biggy:

Our Customer Service department is filled with almost 100% morons.

Nearly half of the jobs I get should not have been fielded to a tech in the first place. I troubleshoot interent access, not repair computers, yet I will get calls to homes that have computers that do not even turn on. There are a certain amout of troubleshooting steps that our reps are supposed to take the customer through before sending a tech. Do you know how many of those steps were used for a customer that does not even have a PC that will turn on? That's right: ZERO. Our appointments are scheduled by time slot, yet we will have reps schedule calls for a 3:00 - 6:00 timeslot (which means that we gaurentee we will show up between those times), with comments on the work order to come after 5:00. I GET OFF AT 5:00! So it results in an instant cancelation of the call becasue the customer wasn't home. Not to mention it's against "policy" to put those comments on the work order to begin with. the bad part is, is we, the tech, have to be the one to explain to the customer why the info they got from the phone rep was not true, and apologize for them waiting 3 hours for a call that should not have been scheduled in the first place. I'm not even cracking the tip of the iceberg here. Everyday it's the same thing. And no matter how much we complain, it doesn't matter.