EBay listing help

Discussion in 'Transformers On Ebay' started by Insane Galvatron, Mar 11, 2012.

  1. Insane Galvatron

    Insane Galvatron is not insane. Really!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Posts:
    15,728
    News Credits:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Likes:
    +138
    A long time ago, I was able to put images in my auction description by using the following code:

    <a href="http://s9.photobucket.com/albums/a73/InsaneGalvatron/?action=view&amp;current=0205122253-1.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a73/InsaneGalvatron/0205122253-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App"></a>

    However, the last few times I put up a listing, and used that coding from my photobucket account, it wouldn't work. The listing would just have that big old wall of text you see above. Yet, I see other auctions with additional pics in the description all the time. What do I need to do different to get the pics to show?
     
  2. brr-icy

    brr-icy G1 Collector

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    15,968
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Likes:
    +1,084
    Ebay:
    post them in a thread here or something, copy/paste
     
  3. Orodruin

    Orodruin @deathformer TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    11,393
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +5
    It's possible they block html code in the body of the auction listing in order to force you pay for additional images. Assuming they charge for that of course, I'm not aware.
     
  4. wildfly

    wildfly Right notes. Wrong order.

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Posts:
    14,333
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Likes:
    +364
    Works absolutely fine when i paste into a relist form on eBay.

    Are the line breaks okay?


    As recently as two weeks ago, they weren't. They're so money grubbing, i'm quite amazed they haven't.
     
  5. sunlink

    sunlink Be Transformed

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1,771
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +7
    When you add the HTML code to your description make sure you're in Ebay's HTML tab for the description. I believe by default you're stuck in their WYSIWYG tab so it's not going to parse the HTML properly.
     
  6. juise

    juise TFW2005 Token Negro

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    2,467
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Get rid of the link, that is getting your html blocked. eBay no longer allows off site linking.

    just use

    <img src="http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a73/InsaneGalvatron/0205122253-1.jpg">
     
  7. Fishdirt

    Fishdirt Tin Toy Transformer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    3,646
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    This is likely the culprit.
     
  8. Insane Galvatron

    Insane Galvatron is not insane. Really!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Posts:
    15,728
    News Credits:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Likes:
    +138
    Actually, I already tried that and it still didn't work.

    I will try that when I get home tonight. Sounds like the most likely problem.
     

Share This Page