Customs: DVD Prime Sound Box Mod?

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Jag, Nov 1, 2006.

  1. Jag

    Jag Silent Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Likes:
    +0
    I was thinking of picking up a DVD Prime but had heard alot of bad things about his "voice" and was wondering has anyone tried to recored over the bad voice job with some real Prime lines? Would this type of mod even be possible? If so any info on this would be great, because if I buy him I plan on doing a little repainting to make him more show accurate, and would like a voice to match.
     
  2. REDLINE

    REDLINE longer days, plz? Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    27,867
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +3
    good luck with that, I imagine the voice is recorded digitally onto a chip, so I have no idea how you'd go about such a thing.
     
  3. Sideways

    Sideways Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Posts:
    2,432
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    good luck with that , Jag.. i have the DVD Prime....the only GOOD sound is the transformation one.

    I just took out the batteries.....
     
  4. IACON

    IACON "That's Vector Sigma?" TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,048
    Trophy Points:
    216
    Likes:
    +5
    You and me both buddy.
     
  5. Hook

    Hook Out of Options Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    11,454
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec
    Likes:
    +2
    Facebook:
    It's unfortunate. It was a great concept that got scrapped by a shitty voice recording
     
  6. Night Flame

    Night Flame TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    4,884
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +5
    It's probably an embedded chip with the sound hard-coded. Unless you're an absolute electronics wiz, your best bet would be a custom from the ground-up soundbox setup that you can stick inside the base.

    If you have any experience with embedded systems, grabbing something like one of these little things, or at least the motherboard and the audio expansion board, would make setting up a new voicebox pretty simple. But, if you don't, I'm sure there's easier to use recording devices you could set up pretty simply.
     
  7. MECHADOOM

    MECHADOOM I'm Doombot and I know it

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    1,728
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +2
    I've thought up ways in which to put new sound chips into toys, but it would usually only play one sound clip, if it would even work at all.
    1: Go to a store like Toys'r'us, and find a device that allows you to record sound, and then play it back. (In this case, I'm actually thinking of a Barbie electronic horn for a bycicle.)
    2: Disassemble the device, and remove the electronics, making note of which button does what.
    3: See if the new electronics would fit into the item you are trying to install it into.
    4: Record the new sound clip from your source of choice. When installing the electronics, ensure that only the "playback" button is accessable, so that you dont have to re-record the sound clip.

    I've really wanted to do this with Energon Galvatron's tank ever since i heard the "firing" sound. eesh.
     
  8. RandomFerret

    RandomFerret Fuzzy Forever

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    5,697
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +1
    Find a 'build a bear' store, and buy one of their recordable voice boxes. It's tiny and uses a single button. You should have no problem swapping the electronics out. The most you might have to do is build up the bottom of the base a little to make it fit in.
     
  9. Jag

    Jag Silent Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Likes:
    +0
    Thanks for all the info, after I pick one up later I'll open up the base and see what there is to work with. Saddly I'm no wiz with electronics, but I'm not too shabby. I should be able to swap out the sound chip. Does anyone know how big the sound chip from the 'build a bear' workshop is? And if it can record more then one sound?
     
  10. Crobot91

    Crobot91 Daddy has lots of TFs...

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    6,049
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +11
    Man, I saw the bloody thing today at TRU; that voice is horrible...

    It sounds like some dude who just woke up out of bed and was told to read the lines a.s.a.p.

    I know that Hasbro was trying to cut costs by not having to pay the original Prime but at least they could have used some dude who could imitate the voice fairly accurately... I've seen some guys do you tube parodies and they get Prime about 90% accurate. The dude they used on this toy sounds like a nimrod....
     
  11. Golgo-013

    Golgo-013 The Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Posts:
    567
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
  12. Yodaporn

    Yodaporn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Posts:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
  13. revlimiter

    revlimiter Bot Hacker

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,097
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +3

Share This Page