DS internet connection problems

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Cloud Strife, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. Cloud Strife

    Cloud Strife 01000011 01000101 0101010

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1,178
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    i'm sure this has come up a time or 2 before but here it goes. i had the Nintendo WiFi USB, that worked great till i got my laptop and wireless router. now i'm trying to connect my DS to the wireless router and i'm not having any luck. i search for connection, it shows my network, i enter my WEP code, and it won't connect. i've looked at http://www.nintendowifi.com and not had much luck. their discription of what to do is pretty vague. is there anyone who has had the same problem that can help me out. i'm using a Linksys wireless-G router (WRT54G)
     
  2. MilkManX

    MilkManX TF Comicbook Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Posts:
    1,376
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    Set your router to channel 1 or 11 and set the TX rate to 1-2 mbs
     
  3. Dark_Convoy

    Dark_Convoy Old Bastard Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    17,201
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +0
    Also check if your router is in b/g combo mode it seems like the DS and Wii only connect to 802.11b - I can't get them to connect in "g only" mode.
     
  4. Cloud Strife

    Cloud Strife 01000011 01000101 0101010

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1,178
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    still no luck i may just call later on tonight
     
  5. Dark_Convoy

    Dark_Convoy Old Bastard Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    17,201
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +0
    I had a hell of a time getting my son's DS connected, I had to enable ICS in zone alarm, which you can't do unless you have the pro version... which costs money. :mad 
     
  6. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,637
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,491
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    I had an expensive Netgear router that wouldn't connect to my DS for love or money. They hated each other, the DS could see the network but simply would not connect.

    I now have some shitty cheap chinese router that my service provider gave me and it and my DS make sweet sweet connection love.

    Which is weird.
     
  7. Cloud Strife

    Cloud Strife 01000011 01000101 0101010

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1,178
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    well, i'm gonna call probebly tomarrow when i have more time. tonight i'm too excited about playing Zelda: Phantom Hourglass

    i only remember getting online with the USB.i don't remember if i ever got online with the router on my old DS. even if i did, i never had my old DS and the new DS lite to look at what i had the settings as.
     
  8. Cloud Strife

    Cloud Strife 01000011 01000101 0101010

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1,178
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    i feel insanely stupid! i went exploring on my router earlier today and found out y my ds wouldn't connect. i forgot i enabled mac filtering, i added my ds's mac address and everything works fine.

    wow i feel stupid.
     
  9. Omnius

    Omnius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Posts:
    11,890
    News Credits:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +8
    Odd, I once had some cheap generic router that my DS had no end of trouble with - could see the network, but couldn't obtain an IP. After I had problems with one of my PCs I replaced with it a Belkin and it's been fine... I think some of the problem is down to the DS' rather limited wifi implementation unfortunately.
     

Share This Page