Dremel

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Mitch FIN Keith, Sep 27, 2011.

1. Mitch FIN Keith

Mitch FIN Keith Autobot

If i want to do clean accurate cutting of plastic, is a dremel the only way? and where is the best place to get a cheap dremel and what kind of price am i looking at.

2. MitchPower

MitchPower Active Member

News Credits:
    I got a mastercraft(home brand of Canadian Tire store) with more accessory than I'll ever need for 40$

3. Gilgamesh

Gilgamesh Mostly Harmless

News Credits:
    X-acto knives and Jeweler sawblades are good and accessible too depending on what exactly are you planning to cut. (I might not have gotten the english names of these tools exactly right)

4. Greyryder

Greyryder Kitbashed

Harbor Freight sells a small Dremel like moto-tool. It doesn't have variable speeds, but its smaller size makes it great for working on small projects like Transformers. It comes with a crap ton of accessories, too. I've been using mine more and more, since I got it.

I'd recommend picking up some reinforced cutoff wheels, somewhere, though. The wheels the HF tool comes with are the brittle type that break really easy. Better than the thinner unreinforced Dremel wheels I've used, though.

Keep in mind, for years I've customized Transformers and GI Joe figures without a moto-tool. Pin vices are invaluable, as X-acto knives. Number 10 and 11 blades are a necessity, for cleaning up rough edges, shaving down tight spots, and carving off unwanted details. The #11 will see the most use, and you'll probably want to get a bulk pack, eventually. The tips break off of them, a lot. There are also saw blades available for X-acto handles. They're incredibly useful, for making quick cuts.

5. rattraprules98

rattraprules98 AKA Chr0nus

News Credits:
    I'd get the snake extension that makes it a lot easier to use...

6. PlanckEpoch

PlanckEpoch Just a regular old plumbus

News Credits: