DOS game recommendations

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by dsn1014, Dec 11, 2011.

1. dsn1014

dsn1014 41:75:74:6f:62:6f:74

So I've been playing around with Vmware and Dos Box, I just completed Bioforge and I have to say I was very impressed, a great game all round, I'll forgive the clunky controls.

So I'm looking for old school game recommendations if anyone has any. Know any games I can download and play for free? (I'm a student whose looking for cheap adventure lol)

I'm looking for more sci-fi rpgs, I see Origin who published BioForge have a couple, but curious if there are any other good ones I should have an eye out for.

2. Haloid1177

Haloid1177 Hey, That's Pretty Good

News Credits:
    Zork.

3. Creaky

Creaky King of Puppies

News Credits:
  4. dsn1014

oldschool!

I saw that available alright, might be the job.

5. Haloid1177

Haloid1177 Hey, That's Pretty Good

News Credits:
    Elder Scrolls was my second choice. But Zork rocks.

6. FatalT 71

FatalT 71 Mr. JazzHunter

News Credits:
    Darklands
    Privateer
    Wing Commander I - III
    Bards Tale
    Wizardry
    Master of Magic
    Master of Orion
    Civilization
    Eye of the Beholder I - III
    Dark Forces
    Dark Forces II: Jedi Knight

7. dsn1014

Awesome list, cheers :) 

I loved Jedi Knight!! Great idea.

Wing Commander sounds sweet too.

I remember Civilisation as well, but was never quite organised enough for God sims lol

as for the rest Google will know hehe

8. Xabungle

Xabungle Well-Known Member

Star Control II, also known in modern (open source rerelease) form as The Ur-quan Masters.
    System Shock. System Shock II is even better, but I believe that ran on Windows.

9. dsn1014

I was looking into System Shock today, didn't know there was a sequal. From what I could see its a first person shooter with RPG aspects. I saw some screenshots today and I like the look of it.