Don't you hate it when...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by One, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. One

    One Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    623
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    Your internet provider tells you that you are using too much usage of your internet. I didn't know that they had a "policy" that tells me I can get a freaking violation for using to much...the hell? I was thinking of getting me Xbox live but I don't see that is happening anytime soon (this is the only net out here so yeah it sucks).


    sorry I had to vent
     
  2. Lord Megatron

    Lord Megatron FFFF

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    What are you doing that you get that?
     
  3. One

    One Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    623
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    Well I watch videos on youtube and I go to websites like bloody-disgusting that have a lot of pictures and whatnot.
     
  4. jorod74

    jorod74 Psycholagnist (Ret.)

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Posts:
    7,559
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    *ahem* i bet it doesn't require 2 hands? lol.

    i don't have that problem with my ISP. never have and i do a lot of reading and video watching online (and yet not so much compared to others i bet) even with 3 laptops and 2 desktop PC's running off the same network.

    so unless you are on a discounted package with limitations, i don't have a clue why you got slapped with a violation and restrictions.
     
  5. grimlock1972

    grimlock1972 "No Mas" My Wallet

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    18,198
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +58
    any chance Comcast is your ISP?
     
  6. One

    One Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    623
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    lol very funny but no I don't do that.. lol

    I made a mistake it's the only "fastest" internet out here not the only one.


    edit- Negative I don't use comcast.
     
  7. Tyrannosaur

    Tyrannosaur 100% Sarcastic Saurian

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4,110
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +0
    Hm... not sure how to help you exactly on this one, usually I'm pretty tech-savvy. Maybe you should try buying a more powerful adapter/modem, or switching to Firefox if you don't already have it? My knowledge on this subject is limited.

    I'll see what I can come up with though ;)  I remember a few years back my parents had the same problem with our internet provider.
     
  8. One

    One Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    623
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    It's all good dude thanks for trying to help and I do use Firefox, I guess I have to wait and see if something new comes my way without these stupid limitations.

    (tries not to go insane until then)
     
  9. cobra zartan

    cobra zartan Think's He's a Detective.

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Posts:
    6,343
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +19
    Ive had this happen to me several times, Ive had my service cut off for a week several times and then my service removed by one provider, another provider in my city told me they were going to get me cut off also :p  The first provider claimed to have unlimited bandwidth which was a pile of crap.
     
  10. VaderPrime1

    VaderPrime1 Prepare for termination!

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Posts:
    5,194
    News Credits:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Likes:
    +20
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    Until now... I didn't even know that it was possible to use too much! :lol 
     
  11. CdnShockwave

    CdnShockwave The Prince of Poses TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Posts:
    10,548
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    Yeah, mine's capped at 20gigs a month
     
  12. Murasame

    Murasame CHIMICHANGAS

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Posts:
    15,463
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    The Lost Light
    Likes:
    +283
    In that case, change your provider. That's not much of Internet usage. I'm online 24/7, right now downloading with JDownloader at home and when I'm home, I'm on YouTube, Myspace, StudiVZ, Last.FM, some forums and what else comes to mind. Never got any problems.

    Honestly? Other people do much more with their Internet.
     
  13. Kando

    Kando Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    1,767
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    I pay a nice chunk of change a month for my service, so they let me use as much as I can.
     
  14. Ops_was_a_truck

    Ops_was_a_truck JOOOLIE ANDREWWWWWS!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Posts:
    11,549
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Look, I'm just going to cut it to you straight - unless you've got a local, podunk service provider who's giving you a cap of like 1M usage, I find it very hard to believe that the stuff you listed could eat up that much bandwidth (unless you're, like, queuing up and watching youtube videos every 15 minutes or something.)

    Usually, the biggest bandwidth eater is multiple media downloads or media torrents of big, multi-MB or multi-GB files. If you're torrenting or downloading media, (and I'm saying nothing of legality here, just bandwidth usage,) and you're downloading a LOT of it, then that'd probably be why they gave you a warning or limited your service.

    If not, then that's one REALLY behind-the-times ISP and you should probably change providers as soon as you can.
     
  15. Razorclaw

    Razorclaw Are ya gonna draw pistols

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    5,024
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0

    ^
    ^
    THIS!!

    OWAT hit the nail right on the head.
     
  16. One

    One Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    623
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    alright guys thanks for the suggestions I probably will change providers when I I can but seeing right now this is the only fastest one out here I have to wait and hopefully something better comes my way until then im stuck with this shitty ISP :(  .
     
  17. lars573

    lars573 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    6,859
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +27
    What kind of service is it? (cable, DSL, Fiber to the door, etc)
     
  18. One

    One Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    623
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    Well I thought it was DSL/Broadband but it's cable.
     
  19. Gingerchris

    Gingerchris Telly-headed Tyrant

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    14,696
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +43
    There's only so much internet out there and some people don't know how to share. The other day I went online and someone had used up all the messageboards so I had to go look at photos of kittens instead.
    I think next time I'll just have to bring a sleeping bag and camp outside the internet all night to get in first when it opens.
     
  20. Lance Halberd

    Lance Halberd oh hai

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Posts:
    5,780
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +3

Share This Page