Do you think they should use motion capture for the Cybertronians in future films?

Discussion in 'Transformers Movie Discussion' started by celticgaurdian, Jul 1, 2014.

  1. celticgaurdian

    celticgaurdian Clean-up Crew

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    With the faces of the robots getting more human-like (Drift, Hound,Sentinel Prime, Lockdown), and more big-name actors being cast to play them (John Goodman, Ken Watanabe, Leonard Nimoy), do you think that ILM should take advantage of motion capture technology to get a better performance out of the 'Bots and 'Cons?
     
  2. MTME

    MTME Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    11,326
    News Credits:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Likes:
    +45
    To me lockdown looked different like he might have been motion capture, I don't know depends if weta does it or not
     
  3. Dotmshockwave

    Dotmshockwave Decepticon Assassin

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Posts:
    1,352
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +539
    Google+:
    ARE YOU KIDDING, Lockdown was the most robotic character we have seen in this whole trilogy, the way he walked all robotic like and fought robotic like made him awesome, oh and no I dont want motion capture for some reason it doesn't feel right for the Transformers.
     
  4. Magnahide

    Magnahide Maximal Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    645
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Location:
    Ohio
    Likes:
    +201
    No. The Cybertronians aren't humans. Their movement should be unique.
     
  5. Scorpio

    Scorpio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    4,615
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Likes:
    +497
    Motion capture is unnecessary we don't need to make them anymore human
     
  6. OptimusJet

    OptimusJet One with the Matrix

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    829
    News Credits:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Likes:
    +40
    What they done with Lockdown in AOE was great.. No need for Motion Capture. His body movements and also his face was great especially when Cade said 'Hey, You!' and Lockdown turned around and gave him that evil look. I just don't think Motion Capture is right for Transformers.. It would also be very expensive. (Not like that's a big problem) but yeah what ILM is doing at the moment is good enough IMO :thumb 
     
  7. PrimeTime85

    PrimeTime85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Likes:
    +1
    Lockdowns walk had a lil swagger to it. That has to motion capture I don't think CGI is that good.
     
  8. Dotmshockwave

    Dotmshockwave Decepticon Assassin

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Posts:
    1,352
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +539
    Google+:
    Oh, but it is....
     
  9. celticgaurdian

    celticgaurdian Clean-up Crew

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    Well they managed to use motion-capture in Rise of the Planet of the Apes, King Kong, and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, while still making it believable that the characters were apes and not humans, so.....
     
  10. celticgaurdian

    celticgaurdian Clean-up Crew

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    NVM, apparently they already DID use mo-cap in AOE
     

Share This Page