Do you remember cartoons? Wanna help with some research?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Saurocon, Oct 31, 2011.

1. Saurocon

Saurocon Uncle Samhain

By way of introduction, I am a graduate instructor at Utah State University, and I am working on a short, somewhat general research project exploring the messages we get from cartoons and how they function in culture. As a fellow fan of 80’s cartoons (especially TFs :} ), I was hoping to get some of your impressions/recollections/opinions on the subject for use in my research.

The idea for this project came as a reaction to “The Smurfette Principle” by Katha Pollitt, available here. This short article didn’t stem from much research at all, but posits some interesting ideas which I would like to test through research. Though Pollitt focuses on gender issues, I would like to look more closely at how ANY message communicated through cartoons to children gets across, and what kids do with those messages.

With that in mind, I’d like to ask everybody’s general ideas of how cartoons affected them as kids. I’m not looking necessarily for a questionnaire sort of response—I just want to know what people remember, but some questions that might get the ball rolling are:

+ What, if anything, did you learn from cartoons you watched as a kid?
    + How did cartoon shows affect your play—not just with toys or whether you bought toys because of the show, but did you play other games differently because of ideas (of any sort) portrayed in cartoons?
    +What about the cartoons caught and held your interest? What made them memorable?
    + Did cartoons affect you differently than other media? If so, how?

Thanks in advance for taking the time to respond :}

Edit: one more thing that comes to mind--how willing were you as a kid to watch a show marketed toward the opposite sex, and why or why not?

Last edited: Nov 1, 2011
  2. Triple Melter

Triple Melter EGG GANG™