Customs: Do you get Bashers Thumbs?

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by TonyzCustomz, Aug 30, 2008.

1. TonyzCustomz

TonyzCustomz Am I doin it rite? TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Just recently I have been working a lot more sculpting and whatnot(Cause I am a full time toy builder/modeler.:p ) My thumbs though have been extremely sensitive as of lately to the point that I have to stop working cause if I tried to sculpt or use styrene my fingers would hurt and feel like they are going to bleed or something.

Any one else experience this?

Radicons Discuss!!!

2. REDLINE

REDLINE longer days, plz? Veteran

News Credits:
    I've had it happen before, usually from having to press hard on things either in grip or just to mash together. not from basic sculpting though... its like learning to play a guitar... at first it tears your fingers up, but if you keep at it through the pain, they'll become really tough and eventually they'll not bother you again (unless you stab 'em! :p )

3. frenzyrumble

frenzyrumble Banned

News Credits:
    haha. I used to play guitar...a lot. Which built up nice callouses on them. Now, I have very thick pads on my finger tips, which helps avoid a lot of pain.

I sometimes dremel into my fingertips, and it doesn't damage them. You can try some "invisible glove" lotion on your hands prior to working on bashes, it's got some strange stuff in it which makes your fingers more invulnerable towards pain and damage.

The worst ache i have is crazy glue. no matter how hard I try or careful I am, I tend to get that crap all over my hands. It's a bitch to clean off too.

Another ache is all the high-toxic materials I use, enamel paint, apoxy glues and resin, paint thinner and lacquer thinner, x-acto blades, the scary dremel...they are all prone to accident - and it's important to hav good medical coverage, as a tiny slip could result in plastic or metal debris in your eyeball or a deep cut from a blade or bit.