Do it yourself repaint tips?

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Ultra Magnus Combiner, Mar 2, 2018.

1. Ultra Magnus Combiner

Ultra Magnus Combiner Well-Known Member

I was wondering if someone has any tips on how to do a repaint of a Masterpiece seeker.

Please forgive me I have no painting background so let's not get too technical. Given I don't have an art background, don't have an air spray paint brush. I am looking for the "simplest way" to do it that's safe and effective for basic needs.

Initial Ideas:

I was thinking of doing it by using Tamiya Flat Clear as a base and then Tamiya paint. I'm a bit concern the paint might be too thick and if one tries to transform it from one mode to another that things might get stuck together and possible break. I have a paint thinner i can add to the paint though so could this approach work?
    or
    I have some Gundam Markers which might be better since I hear the earlier version of the MP seekers like the Walmart exclusive Skywarp is more brittle than the newer mp style seekers that is mp-11. I like the earlier MP style seek in jet mode so that's why I'm thinking about using it.

Ultimate Goal is to make it look like a Blue's Angels Color Seeker which was in the 80's transformer movie. The blue angels are cool unto themselves and it would offer a good compliment to Dirge on my desk in Jet mode and I can have them on both corners of it looking like they should be together.

200px-NotDirge.gif

Last edited: Mar 2, 2018
  2. iuJacob

iuJacob low battery

News Credits:
    You should probably post this to the Creative section of the forum. You’ll get a lot more help that way :) 

I don’t recommend Tamiya for wet brushing. But if you do use it, you will have to use thinner with it. Vallejo, Citadel (Games Workshop) are better for brushing.

I also don’t recommend painting the MP right away. Experiment and practice with some other figures first, especially since you say you have no experience yet.