did I get a computer screen that's TOO sharp?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ckhtiger, Jan 23, 2007.

  1. ckhtiger

    ckhtiger old skool fool

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    6,320
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +3
    so I just received my new dell laptop today. its got a 17 inch truelife wuxga screen, which is 1920x1200 pixels, and I also got the nvidia geforce go 7900 gs graphics card with 256mb. text and everything looks great, but most pictures, banners, etc on the web, even the big word google on the search engines' page have a bit of a jagged look to them. should I adjust my settings somehow to get rid of this, or is it something like my screen has a higher resolution than those images?
     
  2. Phy

    Phy I want... ROOM SERVICE!!

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,766
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +1
    Did I just hear you say "Help, my monitor's too leet for the internet?" ;) 
     
  3. ckhtiger

    ckhtiger old skool fool

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    6,320
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +3
    leet?
     
  4. Lord Bacon

    Lord Bacon BACON DUKE

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Posts:
    649
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Likes:
    +0
    1337
     
  5. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    flat monitors have a native resolution, if you set it to something else than that everything will look slightly distorted. check if thats the case.
     
  6. Seth Buzzard

    Seth Buzzard R.I.P. Buzzbeak Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    15,170
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +4
    This reminded me of a guy at this game store complaining to my friend and I that his brand new Pentium (this is when they where still new) ran Doom to fast. My friend just said “Oh-no feel sorry for me I have cool stuff.”
     
  7. Night Flame

    Night Flame TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    4,884
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +5
    What he said. If you know your maximum resolution, that's the resolution you need to go with. Anything else will make things look a little jaggly and out of proportion. Even the LCD monitors that have anti-aliasing built in can't compensate properly on everything.
     
  8. ckhtiger

    ckhtiger old skool fool

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    6,320
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +3
    I really wasn't trying to be a jackass, although I guess it may have sounded like that. I just wanted some help, so I said what some of the specs were. I had to get a new one because I got a credit from work, so I just went with the best I could get. apparently it's because while I was running in the right resolution, I didn't have the dpi right. I had it larger so I could read the text better. I'm going to put firefox on and see if that helps.
     
  9. Hook

    Hook Out of Options Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    11,454
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec
    Likes:
    +2
    Facebook:
    I know what you mean. When you go from a CRT montitor to an LCD, everything seems sharper. It's normal. My laptop's 15.4 widescreen LCD does that, and so does my 19 inch desktop LCD, both at native resolution.
     
  10. Foster

    Foster Super Mod

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Posts:
    32,065
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +11
    Why, did all your porn stars get suddenly uglier and more coke-whorish?
     
  11. ckhtiger

    ckhtiger old skool fool

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    6,320
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +3
    no, they just got blocks all over their jiggly bits :p 

    hook: the funny thing is, that I'm just going from a 1600x1200 monitor to this one. I just don't really feel that pictures are supposed to look the way they do, though, with jagged edges. text looks great though. the problem disappears when I put things on 96 dpi, but that makes the text rediculously small. when I put it up to around 150dpi, which is a good text size, is when I get the image problems.
     
  12. Night Flame

    Night Flame TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    4,884
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +5
    You can't really change DPI from what the monitor is supposed to show and expect it to look right. Instead of changing DPI, set the DPI to what it's supposed to be, then change your text size. It's a pain in the ass to do up front, but you only have to do it once. And then everything will be pretty, not just the text.
     
  13. PavingMantis

    PavingMantis I have pincers...PINCERS!

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Likes:
    +0
    Are you using Internet Explorer? I had the same issue when I got my laptop, I switched to Firefox and all the jaggy pictures and etc. went away. I might be completely off, but if you aren't using firefox give it a shot, that might clear up your issues.

    edit: noticed you mentioned trying firefox... any luck?
     
  14. ckhtiger

    ckhtiger old skool fool

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    6,320
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +3
    well, I did that too, except it ends up changing the format of lots of pages. any next that is a hyperlink ends up being way too big and coming out of the part of the page it's supposed to.
     
  15. Dark_Convoy

    Dark_Convoy Old Bastard Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    17,201
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +0
    [​IMG]
     
  16. Pimpimus Prime

    Pimpimus Prime (┌∩┐(◣_◢)┌∩┐) TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Posts:
    6,078
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +13
    Ebay:
    Do you have ClearType enabled?
     
  17. Night Flame

    Night Flame TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    4,884
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +5
    You're talking here about IE's instance on re-sizing every picture to fit the size of the screen. Hover over the picture and it lets you click a little box that will re-size it to its normal size and the jagglies will go away.

    This doesn't sound right at all, but as I say about a thousand times a day at my job, without sitting there looking at exactly what's happening I have no further idea. Sorry.
     

Share This Page