Did anyone notice this goof? (Beast Wars + SPOILERS)

Discussion in 'Transformers General Discussion' started by IodaFett, Feb 24, 2007.

  1. IodaFett

    IodaFett Oregon TF Collector

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    Nearing the end of episode: Code of Hero, just before Dinobot's body is about to be "sent off," I noticed that Rattrap and Rhinox were manning the station.

    But that isn't it.

    Upon closer inspection, Rattrap's body is that of his original form, not his Transmetal form!

    Just thought I'd throw that out there.
     
  2. OldSchool80sKid

    OldSchool80sKid Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    279
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    I'm not sure, but were you :drunk 
     
  3. y2jversion1

    y2jversion1 Rent this space today!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    612
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Yeah, noticed that flaw as well.
     
  4. TJOmega

    TJOmega The Plastic Addict Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    5,658
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +6
    It's a fairly well known error, not really sure what Mainframe was on when they messed that one up.
     
  5. Phorpus

    Phorpus RHco.

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    664
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    Eh, there were a couple few errors.

    Like Dinobot2 not having shoulders in...Nemesis Part...1, I think, when he crushes his spark to pain Rampage.
     
  6. Shipley

    Shipley No Topic Required

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,663
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    182
    Likes:
    +5
    not drunk.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Wiggyof09

    Wiggyof09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    878
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    It happens freom time to time. ReBoot seasin 3 from Mainframe had a lot of animation errors. It happens when someone accidently uses an old file. Not sure why things like this aren't caught before production though.
     
  8. TJOmega

    TJOmega The Plastic Addict Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    5,658
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +6
    I remember having some theory that the scene was actually animated to be in Season 1 but plans had changed and it was put off until Season 2, with the fly-by added in then. Might also explain why Dinobot's body looked like it was restored when he was floating there.
     
  9. Primevil

    Primevil *Insert Witty Title Here*

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,761
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    I read something once (can't remember when or where) that said when Mainframe was animating Code of Hero, their computers weren't powerful enough to render the scene with the Transmetal Rattrap model, so they used the regular Rattrap rather than recreate the scene.

    I guess it's possible that could have happened. I haven't watched Beast Wars in a while, so I can't recall any scenes that would have been more taxing on a computer.
     
  10. Pravus Prime

    Pravus Prime Sorcerer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Posts:
    14,122
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Likes:
    +71
    Yeah, it's pointed out rather often here. About once every four months or so. But congratulations, you're the 1 billionth person to point that out!
     
  11. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
    Give him a break, he's only just joined.
    And I'd never noticed that either.
     
  12. Brandon

    Brandon This is important work.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,175
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +0
    First time I noticed, thanks for pointing it out man.
     
  13. darksage78

    darksage78 Maximal

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,001
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Likes:
    +0
    There were a few actually in BW. I think it was Nemesis Part 1, when Optimal Optimus is talking to Rattrap and in the background you see Transmetal Cheetor walking with Blackarachnia instead of Cheetor in his TM2 body.
     
  14. Chaos Muffin

    Chaos Muffin Misadventure Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    28,751
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +4
    Never noticed it either, might go throw in the disc now too see it. Thanks for the info
     
  15. Emperor Prime

    Emperor Prime Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Likes:
    +0
    I agree with you Draven, gotta love how one person has to be an ass and do this.
     
  16. optimusfan

    optimusfan Kill your heroes Administrator TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Posts:
    11,048
    News Credits:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    327
    Likes:
    +61
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    I remember it being that the computer kept crashing when they tried to render the scene, not that it wasn't powerful enough. Maybe the two are related though. Regardless of the reason, they swapped the model out for the original Rattrap on purpose.
     
  17. Samana Rombuca

    Samana Rombuca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Posts:
    1,456
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    Yessir, that is what I heard as well.
     
  18. aussiehippy

    aussiehippy Au contraire, Blackadder.

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    I'd like to chip in that I'd never heard of this either.

    Cheers for pointing it out dood.
     
  19. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,705
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +3
    I noticed it by myself, but only on the third (maybe fourth) viewing.

    I love Code of Hero. Fantastic episode.

    The first time I watched it I didn't notice the error because my brain was still like Dinobot died?
     
  20. Team Jetfire

    Team Jetfire Pop-POP!

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Posts:
    5,889
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +13
    It is really sad, but I haven't even seen that ep.

    If I see it, I will look for the error.
     

Share This Page