Desperate for a job, but not THAT desperate...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rattrap007, Sep 5, 2006.

1. rattrap007

rattrap007 Insert witty comment here TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Well I answered an ad in the paper today for a job. It said they were hiring 15 management Trainees. Said something about appliance sales. Well other than that is was vauge. Sounds good I thought. I got my associates degree (1 last class to finish) in management. Well I call. They are doing interviews. Well I quickly eat, shower, shave, get dressed in shirt, tie, sports coat.. really nice and professional. Drive to the place. It is not the nicest place I've been in. The carpet looks well over 20 years old and needs a good cleaning. I fill out the application form and wait for an interview. Everyone else is in jeans and a T-Shirt. "How unprofessional" I think to myself. I get in and the guy tells me about the company.

Turns out it is for managing a team of 3-4 door to door vaccum cleaner salespeople... Called Kirbys. I'm kinda stunned. Here I thought it was for a Rent To Own type place. Base pay would be $1600 a month. WTF?? I'm a manager and that is all I make? Well i also get commision. Well sorta. If the commision sales exceed the payment for the week I get the commishion only. If not then I just get the base pay. Well they are having a orientation tommorow if I am interested. Uh hell no. No way I'm working my ass off like that for a crap job like that. I want a career. I want to do something like be a shift manager at a hotel and move my way up to head manager or regional. Something like that.

I may need a job, but I am not that desperate. When I told my mom she laughed. She said yeah I did not want to get a job like that ever.

oh well. Going out tommorow and pick up manilla envelopes and address labels to mail off some resumes to potential employers.

2. KA

KA PENIS GOES WHERE?!!

News Credits: