Darksiders II

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by DethPike, Aug 15, 2012.

  1. DethPike

    DethPike Master of Sinanju

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Posts:
    3,558
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Anyone else pick this up?

    I loved the first one, and this one so far is pretty cool. It's gorgeous to look at, but so far feels like "more of the same". Not complaining - it's cool, don't get me wrong. I'm only 6 hours in so I hope the story picks up. As far as action, it's got plenty of that.
     
  2. graymer

    graymer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,173
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    Crap. Did it already release? It was on my list for 2012 for sure.

    I guess I'm too caught up in ME3 and waiting for FoC that it missed my radar.
     
  3. Onslaught24

    Onslaught24 MTMTE Sucks Moderator News Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    14,207
    News Credits:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +499
    Ebay:
    Instagram:
    i picked it up. on my way to the fire mountain thing. anyone else stuck in some castle?
     
  4. opt1musaber

    opt1musaber Victory Saber's Recruit

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Posts:
    7,053
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +34
    Bought this game from left of field. I had 0 interest in this, until I saw one of steam's ads (Damn you Steam!!). Anyways, I've never played the original, but this one looks like it plays in parallel with the original so you can get an idea of what's happened. Love the game, but boy was it a nightmare setting this up with a controller on the PC. Don't ask me why I bothered, maybe because I've been playing the God of war series on PS2 :p . Like I was saying, though, setting up a controller for this game was a nightmare, because the controller is a Powerwave generic USB controller, which apparently a lot of new games doesn't detect. Thankfully I found a program called XBOX360ce that fixes this. The next issue was assigning actions to buttons in your preferred layout....This took me 3 hours or so, but I finally got something that's playable at least.

    The other bad thing I can think of is it's UI. It has NO graphics options on the PC, besides Resolution, VSYNC & Gamma.....It needs Antialiasing imo, even at 1200p. The graphics are not bad, but I can see why the requirements are low compared to some bigger titles.

    I would like to see a largish update that adds and fixes majority of these somewhat 'minor' problems. I would say this is like PC's God of War in some respects, but the polish is not the same level, I'm afraid. Once you get into story it's pretty damn good, though and honestly using the controller whilst sitting further back, makes some of the "bad graphics" less apparent.
     
  5. Onslaught24

    Onslaught24 MTMTE Sucks Moderator News Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    14,207
    News Credits:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +499
    Ebay:
    Instagram:
    now i'm off to find the tears or whatever. stuck again though :( 
     
  6. Liege Prime

    Liege Prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    9,013
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +683
    I'm enjoying it a lot so far. I like having Despair right away and constantly getting new armor and weapons. Funny thing though, the very first door, not 5 minutes into the game, opens up and I see sky and clouds through it. I step in thinking that's what it's supposed to be, but I fall to my death into nothingness. The next time it opened and there was a hallway in there, so I guess it forgot to load the environment!
     
  7. JetFormers

    JetFormers « Ultima Ratio Hecate »

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Posts:
    1,582
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +2
    I couldn't remeber the title of my own thread name, but I think I did posted a Darksiders 2 thread. Anyways! Yeah I'm a big fan of Darksiders so I picked this up early in the morning...And now I'm in the Angel's Realm Lost city or well..I just stared there.
     
  8. Noizemaze

    Noizemaze Ken

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    3,363
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +7
  9. Subotnik

    Subotnik Please Stand By.

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Posts:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +4
    I've got a steam code for the Angel of Death preorder bonus if anyone wants it. I don't have a PC so it's no use to me. I've never used Steam so I don't know if codes are region specific, but I assume it'll work for at least the Asia pacific region.
     
  10. opt1musaber

    opt1musaber Victory Saber's Recruit

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Posts:
    7,053
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +34
    I'll take it! I've been playing this game non stop. 27hrs into it and nowhere near finished :) 
     
  11. Metal Chaos

    Metal Chaos The Spark of Chaos

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Posts:
    4,410
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +5
    I want it, still gotta find work though. I really wanted to get its Collector's Edition, really want that mask and I plan to decorate my gaming room in video game collectibles/props/other nerdy objects.
     
  12. Squee

    Squee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Posts:
    3,677
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +20
    Just picked up a copy. Manager at gamestop was cool enough to give me a preorder code even though i didn't preorder. I giggled the first time i swung the scythe! XD
     
  13. Squee

    Squee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Posts:
    3,677
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +20
    Has anyone been experiencing game glitches? I'm playing on a ps3, and i've gotten stuck in the wall already, and i'm currently in the lost temple. I get to the end and the gates come up, nothing happens. I google what am i supposed to do... and there should be a boss there! lol
     
  14. Liege Prime

    Liege Prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    9,013
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +683
    I have had a few- the one I posted before, where it didn't load an entire area, but also more recently I ran into a wall with my horse, and while trying to turn around I fell through the ground to my death. I also left the controller alone for a minute, and my raven landed on my shoulder. When I moved, the raven spread it's wings and froze, right there, in mid air. After about a minute he "woke" back up. I have been playing on the 360, btw. It just sounds like it could have used a little more time in the testing phase.

    I'm still having a lot of fun though and wouldn't say the bugs are bringing it down or anything. My only real annoyance is that you can't save in multiple slots. With almost any game, I like to have two slots since nowadays if something happens and the game is shut off or freezes while loading, it corrupts your save file. So, two files come in handy since that's actually happened to me in the past with games like Rage. The dangerous part with the single save file here is that it auto saves ALL the time, not JUST when it shows the now loading icon. Whenever you make a transaction, it saves, and every auto save overwrites ontop of that same save file.
     
  15. Nexus Prime

    Nexus Prime Creation is proof.

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Posts:
    948
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +3
    Bought it at WalMart and the first game came with it. Here's hoping that by the time I finish the first game that there will be a patch out for the second.
     
  16. blackTtop

    blackTtop No this is not Patrick...

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Posts:
    342
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +1
    I've only had it freeze twice on me, but no other glitches. (PS3)

    I think it does save automatically in two slots. I looked at the save data yesterday and it has three save files, 1A and 1B and Settings.
     
  17. opt1musaber

    opt1musaber Victory Saber's Recruit

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Posts:
    7,053
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +34
    Best game this year hands down and probably the last few yrs too. Even with all its downsides on the PC version, I've had so much epicness from this game and.... I'm still not finished!!! Max Payne 3 was good, but not as fun as this.
     
  18. Liege Prime

    Liege Prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    9,013
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +683
    It might in some circumstances, but I know I saved, then bought one of the mystery boxes from Skulgrim (or whatever that shopkeepers name is), then exited, then reloaded my save file and it saved my purchase.
     
  19. DethPike

    DethPike Master of Sinanju

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Posts:
    3,558
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Glitches? Not really - only one I can think of - I was fighting the Archon and he fell through the floor, and was hovering around under it - like, WAY under it.... which would have been fine if he just died and it gave me the "W" but no, he just flew around down there so I restarted and beat his a$$ the old fashioned way.

    Mine also froze once or twice.

    I beat it this weekend. Meh. Overall I liked it, but I think the first one was better.
     
  20. Blackout32

    Blackout32 Subdivisions

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Posts:
    3,853
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +130
    I am having so much fun on this game and I am soooooo glad I bought it. I even bought the game guide to this game and the game guide has helped so much, plus the guide even gives you a code for ANOTHER free DLC piece that doesn't come with the game or any pre-order.
     

Share This Page