Damaged/lost molds

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by SoundShock, Aug 10, 2009.

1. SoundShock

SoundShock Go home, Steve.

The only damaged/lost molds I know are Sunstreaker and Mirage. What else am I missing?

2. Kaymac

Kaymac I'M REALLY FEELIN' IT!

I think the very first Frenzy/Rumble molds have been lost, but they have been reproduced by Hasbro and Takara since. I'm not an expert, but I think that's what happened.

Hasbro and Takara keep a lot of their molds, so they don't lsoe very many. I think the Combaticon molds are a bit damaged due to being used so much, hence the QC issues on the Encore release of them.

3. swampflight

swampflight Banned

Beast Wars Rattrap

I believe if I remember correctly that even though a K.O. version was released,the original mold for the figure was destroyed.

4. aey103

aey103 Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    I think Wheeljack, Dinobots, Constructicons are also lost/damaged.

Some other unusable molds are Shockwave and Jetfire because those two molds are not owned by Hasbro/Takara/Tomy.

5. matrixprime

matrixprime AJ's Toy Chest Owner

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Aren't the Car Robot Brothers from Car Robots/Robots in Disquise totally ruined and able to be reproduced?

6. lars573

lars573 Well-Known Member

The cost of reverse engineering is coming down. As it stands now you could for $30000 USD buy two machines, a laser scanners, and a CnC milling machine that could reproduce a fully functional Rumble/Frenzy inside 30 minutes.

7. sto_vo_kor_2000

sto_vo_kor_2000 Banned

Soundwave [original design]
    Wheeljack
    Grimlock
    Slage
    Slude
    Snarl
    Swoop

just to name a few

8. Gingerchris

Gingerchris Telly-headed Tyrant

News Credits:
    I believe Hasbro lost the molds for Leader BayFormers Blackout, Leader Animated Lugnut and Supreme Animated Omega Supreme. :p 
    I heard that too. Pity 'cos those are some of my favourite molds.

9. Valkysas

Valkysas Attack Buffalo

News Credits: