Customs: Custom Paintjob Help

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Spartan Prime, Nov 15, 2007.

1. Spartan Prime

Spartan Prime is an apathetic douchebag

I'm new to doing anything fancy with existing figures. Me and a few pals have decided to make custom figures of a few of our Heroes from the MMORPG City Of Heroes. I decided to go with a JLU Kyle Raynor figure, if that helps any. Anybody with experience have advice on the cheap for a quick "how-to"? Help appreciated. I'll say nice things about you.

2. TonyzCustomz

TonyzCustomz Am I doin it rite? TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    A lot of guys over at the soup have done City Of Heroes customs. The first thing that you need to do is look for some good base figures to start working with and go from there.

Edit* did not read it right, so your using Kyle Raynor as your base, but for what exactly, do you have a screen shot of your intended outcome?

3. Spartan Prime

The only one I have right now is this one...

[​IMG]

The front is more or less the same, only with something of a Gambit-like mask, and this costume will be more a maroon/light-gray as opposed to the green/white.

Sorry about the lack of frontal/good coloring. It was a night-photo after a GM fight.

4. TonyzCustomz

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Your going to have to do some light sculpting for the forearms, boots, mask and shoulder pads. Everything short of the shoulder pads should be cake with apoxie sculpt. Hair looks fine and just needs paint. If your going to primer him after doing all the modifications use white so the gray and maroon "pop" more. What do you think?

5. Spartan Prime

Given that I've only done amateur repaints before using model paint, and they turned out rather Grade-D, I think very little... But if it helps any: